SAUCE TWINZ - In Sauce We Trust

The Houston rap scene is one of the most established in the US, no question. Since the 80's, it delivered a wide bunch of great rappers, and over time it developed its own identity. In the 2010's, this long journey continues, thanks to new heroes, The Sauce Factory. This collective, whose most eminent members are Sosamann and the false brothers from The Sauce Twinz, started buzzing with their unrelenting stream of mixtapes, but also with their beef with Drake. As usual, that vulture had tried to posture as a friend and supporter to promising rappers. But those guys are proud, and they love their city: they denied him the right to represent it.

SAUCE TWINZ - In Sauce We Trust

The Sauce Twinz, indeed, are loyal to Houston's rap tradition. They've been praised by one of the city greats, Slim Thug. They claimed their respect for Fat Pat, the cult rapper from the Screwed Up Click who died in 1998. And through the undefined "Sauce" concept that qualifies their style or their allure, through their lyrics and the purple colors on their cover arts, they seem to allude to codeine, the drug associated to Houston's rap culture. However, despite their chauvinistic stance, Sauce Walka and Sancho Saucey sound like Atlanta trappers, more than perpetuators of the cinematic and screwed music of Houston. On In Sauce We Trust, their manifesto, the music is as unremitting and the raps as goofy as those from the Migos.

Like the latter, the duo built its formula over the nihilistic gangsta rap and the ego-trips of the South, and made them particularly ludicrous. There are "Versace"-like repetitions on "Drip", "2 Legited 2 Quited", "Cheese", and "93", and they are used ad nauseam. Onomatopoeias are there too, like their main adlib, "oooweee". The rhymes are limited to a handful of words, as expected with people who don't see themselves as rappers. Their melodies are rudimentary, and their flows are jerky. But their silly raps are possessed. There is something religious, some deep fervor, in the way Sancho Saucey and the even greater Sauce Walka revere their "sauce".

Together, or separately, or with other members from The Sauce Factory, the Sauce Twinz would continue with this formula. They would flood the market with new mixtapes, so much that even the most dedicated fan would be lost and exhausted. However, in this overabundant discography, and despite its own musical obesity, In Sauce We Trust stands out, along with Sosamann's Trap'd Out 2. From the disarticulated piano of "Know the Sauce Twinz" to the catchy steel drum that opens "Westheimer", from the R&B tentative of "Stay Down" to the social comments on "Black on Black Crime", an unusual but powerful track, it delivers some of the very best of The Sauce Factory, and consequently the best rap from Texas in the 2010s.

Download the mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

SAUCE TWINZ - In Sauce We Trust

, 22:45 - Lien permanent

Houston abrite l'une des scènes rap les mieux établies, c'est entendu. Depuis les années 80, elle a apporté au genre un quota considérable de grands rappeurs, et développé une identité forte. Et cela a continué au cœur des années 2010, quand la sensation locale est devenue The Sauce Factory. Ce collectif aux frontières floues, dont les membres les plus éminents sont Sosamann et les faux frères des Sauce Twinz, s'est fait connaître par une pluie incessante de mixtapes, mais aussi par un beef avec Drake. Ce dernier, comme à son habitude, avait cherché à se présenter comme l'ami et le protecteur de rappeurs prometteur, mais ceux-là, fiers et jaloux de leur ville, avaient choisi de lui dénier tout droit à la représenter.

SAUCE TWINZ - In Sauce We Trust

The Sauce Factory :: 2014 :: télécharger la mixtape

Leur loyauté à la tradition rap de Houston, les Sauce Twinz l'ont manifestée dans leurs interviews. Ils ont été parrainés par une gloire locale, Slim Thug. Ils proclament leur respect envers Fat Pat, rappeur culte de la Screwed Up Click décédé en 1998. Et il est facile d'identifier dans le concept mal défini de "Sauce" (un synonyme de "style", d'"allure", plus ou moins), comme dans leurs paroles et dans les couleurs mauves qu'ils privilégient sur leurs pochettes, des allusions au sirop à la codéine, la drogue reine en la ville texane. Toutefois, en dépit de leur esprit de clocher, Sauce Walka et Sancho Saucey ressemblent à des héritiers de la trap d'Atlanta, plutôt qu'à des continuateurs de la musique cinématique et screwed de Houston. Sur cet In Sauce We Trust, le grand manifeste de la Sauce Factory, ce sont en effet des sons trépidants qu'on entend, ainsi que des raps de doux dingues que l'on a comparés à ceux de Migos.

Comme ces derniers, le duo reprend les bases gangsta nihiliste et ego-trippique du rap sudiste, pour les pousser dans les directions les plus farfelues. Les répétitions sont là, sur "Drip", "2 Legited 2 Quited", "Cheese" et "93", et elles sont employées ad nauseam. Les onomatopées aussi, en premier lieu "oooweee", leur signature vocale. Leurs vers dépassent rarement quelques mots. Les rimes sont simples. Comme attendu de la part d'hommes qui ne se reconnaissent pas la qualité de rappeurs, les mélodies sont rudimentaires et le phrasé est saccadé. Mais leurs raps cocasses sont proprement possédés, Sancho Saucey et plus encore Sauce Walka manifestant, envers leur notion de "sauce", une ferveur toute religieuse.

Ensemble ou séparément, et avec les autres membres de la Sauce Factory, les Sauce Twinz déclineront à l'infini leur formule, envahissant le circuit des mixtapes, au point de saturer le fan le plus acharné, de l'amener au bord de l'épuisement. Mais dans cette discographie abondante, avec le Trap'd Out 2 de Sosamann, In Sauce We Trust surnage, malgré son obésité musicale. Du piano désarticulé de "Know the Sauce Twinz", au steel drum irrésistible qui ouvre "Westheimer", à l'essai R&B "Stay Down" et au soupçon de rap social sur "Black on Black Crime", l'un de leurs morceaux les plus forts et les plus inhabituels, on tient quelques uns des meilleurs moments de TSF, et donc du Texas rap du milieu des années 2010.

Évaluer ce billet

5/5

  • Note : 5
  • Votes : 1
  • Plus haute : 5
  • Plus basse : 5

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet