NICKI MINAJ - Beam Me up Scotty

Like it or not, but you have to admit the following: in the 2010s, Nicki Minaj is the number one female rapper. The Trinidadian New-Yorker inherited everything from the ladies who paved her way. She has Lil' Kim's, Foxy Brown's or Trina's gift of the gab, and the same explicit lyrics and postures. She has Missy Elliott's eccentricity and creativity, both visually and musically. And in addition, she knows how to play with her looks, which is a critical asset in a world still requiring this from female artists. Last but not least, she knows how to rap, and the way she handles the mic puts her on par with – or even above – most of her competitors, either men or women.

NICKI MINAJ - Beam Me up Scotty

Those still doubtful about her rap skills should go back to Nicki's mixtapes, and more precisely the third one, Beam Me up Scotty, a turning point in her career. By then, Onika Maraj was no longer an unknown. For two years, she had been Lil Wayne's protégée, who had spotted her on the Brooklyn Dirty Money label and invited her on his Da Drought 3 mixtape. In parallel, she had made a name for herself with Playtime Is Over (2007) and Sucka Free (2008), where featured big names like Gucci Mane. With Beam Me up Scotty, however, she would increase her fame and strengthen her status. It would be her first step toward commercial success, due to "I Get Crazy", a single with Lil Wayne, and more generally, to the overall quality of this project.

Beam Me up Scotty, though, was a true mixtape. Mixed by DJ Holiday, it was full of skits and ad-libs, and it was eclectic. The future pop star started with two club songs, the minimalist and frantic "I Get Crazy" and "Itty Bitty Piggy". She turned R&B with "Kill Da DJ", "Mind on My Money", "Go Hard", "Handstand" and "Envy", and appropriated Drake's marshmallow hit single, "Best I Ever Had". With Jae Millz and Gudda Gudda, she delivered a weird electronic track, "Five-O". She used anachronistic soul music samples on "Can't Anybody Hear Me" and "Still I Rise", but also Auto-Tune on "I Feel Free", techno dancehall sounds with "Beam Me up Scotty", and some guitar in her duets with Lil Wayne – by then in the middle of his rock'n'roll fantasies. And when she worked with Gucci Mane, she used his own trap music, like with the catchy "Easy".

It was all over the place, but Nicki Minaj's skills were obvious. Her raps could go in any direction. She was comfortable with both slow or quick tempos, and she had a knack for insolent punchlines. Her subject matters, actually, were the gangsta trinity, drug, money and sex, plus macho clichés she turned to her benefit, like her hypersexual posture or the passion for shopping she shared on "Shopaholic". At her ease in the rap game, Nicki Minaj introduced herself as an independent feminine figure, the ultimate bad bitch of the XXIst century.

In the end, it's not gonna be about my talent, you know. It's not gonna be about my connections, it's not gonna be about my looks. It's gonna be about who wants it the most, and... I want it the most.

As said by the beginning of the mixtape, Nicki Minaj wanted it the most. She was hungry. And after this mixtape, she would continue to progress, she would become huge. She would also comply with this rule – this malediction – according to which female rappers need to turn pop or R&B. Some of her albums would be good, all would have great tracks. But none would be on par with Beam Me Up Scotty, arguably her best project, if the Nicki you like is Nicki the rapper.

Download this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

NICKI MINAJ - Beam Me up Scotty

, 23:24 - Lien permanent

Qu'on l'aime ou pas, force est de reconnaître qu'une personne domine le pan féminin de la scène rap dans les années 2010, et que cette personne est Nicki Minaj. La New-Yorkaise originaire de Trinité-et-Tobago a su capter l'héritage des grandes rappeuses qui l'ont précédée. Elle a le bagout et le sans-gêne des Lil' Kim, Foxy Brown et Trina, et elle a aussi l'excentricité et la créativité, tant visuelles que musicales, de Missy Elliott, avec en sus (ce qui ne gâche rien, dans un monde qui continue d'avoir cette exigence envers les femmes), une plastique bien plus avantageuse. Qui plus est, son aisance au micro la fait boxer dans la même catégorie que les tout meilleurs rappeurs de notre temps, sans distinction de sexe.

NICKI MINAJ - Beam Me up Scotty

Trap-A-Holics :: 2009 :: télécharger la mixtape

Que ceux qui, allergiques aux incartades pop de la dame, en douteraient encore, se penchent donc sur sa troisième mixtape, Beam Me Up Scotty, le tournant de sa carrière. A cette époque, en 2009, celle dont le véritable nom est Onika Maraj n'était déjà plus une inconnue. Cela faisait deux ans que Lil Wayne l'avait prise sous son aile, après l'avoir repérée sur le label de Brooklyn Dirty Money, et invitée sur sa mixtape Da Drought 3. Dans le même temps, ses premières sorties, Playtime Is Over (2007) et Sucka Free (2008), lui avaient permis de se faire un nom et d'attirer à elle des rappeurs importants, comme Gucci Mane, présent sur le deuxième. Beam Me Up Scotty, cependant, l'aiderait à consolider son statut, et il serait un marchepied vers sa carrière commerciale, grâce à l'efficace single "I Get Crazy", un duo avec Lil Wayne, tout autant qu'à sa qualité d'ensemble.

Beam Me Up Scotty, pourtant, est une pure mixtape. Mixée par DJ Holiday, parcourue de ses slogans et d'interludes parlés, elle est décousue et éclectique. Si elle commence par les minimalistes et frénétiques "I Get Crazy" et "Itty Bitty Piggy", deux titres calibrés pour le club, suivent les refrains R&B de "Kill Da DJ", "Mind on My Money", "Go Hard", "Handstand" et "Envy", le remix du marshmallow "Best I Ever Had" de Drake, la bizarrerie électronique de "Five-O" avec Jae Millz et Gudda Gudda, les samples soul à l'ancienne de "Can't Anybody Hear Me" et "Still I Rise", les chants à l'auto-tune de "I Feel Free", les sons techno dancehall de "Beam Me up Scotty", quelques arpèges de guitare sur les duos avec Lil Wayne, alors en pleine phase rock, ainsi que les collaborations avec Gucci Mane (présent trois fois ici, autant que Weezy) dans son registre trap, dont l'irrésistible "Easy".

Ca part dans tous les sens, mais les qualités rapologiques de Nicki Minaj y sont toujours éclatantes, dès cette démonstration qu'est "Itty Bitty Piggy". Elle y rappe sur tous les modes, aussi à l'aise à toute allure que sur un tempo lent. Et elle y montre son goût pour les punchlines insolentes. Les thèmes abordés appartiennent d'ailleurs à la trinité gangsta habituelle, la drogue, l'argent et le sexe. A cela s'ajoutent les clichés machistes, qu'elle revendique et tourne à son avantage, plutôt qu'elle ne nuance, avec son allure hypersexuée ou quand elle proclame son goût irrépressible pour le shopping ("Shopaholic"). Nicki Minaj s'affirme alors comme l'une de ces figures féminines indépendantes, revêches, qui se sentent à leur aise dans le rap, comme la bad bitch ultime du genre dans le nouveau siècle.

In the end, it's not gonna be about my talent, you know. It's not gonna be about my connections, it's not gonna be about my looks. It's gonna be about who wants it the most, and... I want it the most.

Au bout du compte, ce ne sera pas une question de talents, tu sais. Ce ne sera pas une question de connexions, ce ne sera pas une question de looks. Ce sera à qui en veut le plus, et… c'est moi qui en veux le plus.

Oui, comme elle le disait en introduction, c'est bien Nicki Minaj qui en voulait le plus, c'est elle qui avait faim. Après cette mixtape, elle poursuivrait son ascension. Ce faisant, elle respecterait la règle, cette malédiction du rap, selon laquelle toute femme qui réussit dans cette musique doit s'adonner, en plus, en parallèle, en substitut, qu'importe, à la pop et au R&B. Ses albums compteraient de bonnes choses, et ses interventions sur les morceaux des autres seraient remarquées. Mais aucun ne serait une version en qualité album de ce Beam Me Up Scotty, sa meilleure sortie, sa plus satisfaisante, si celle qu'on aime en elle est la rappeuse.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2009

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2009. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet