MAX B - Public Domain 6: Walking the Plank

By 1997, at the age of 19, Charly Wingate was sent to prison on thievery charges. He stayed there until 2005, and he returned to jail as soon as in 2009, supposedly for having ordered a murder. The case was somehow frail, but he was sentenced to a 75 years' imprisonment nonetheless. Needless to say, the Harlem rapper known as Max B had limited time to build his legend. And to make matters worse, this short period was troubled by his conflict with Jim Jones. Originally sponsored by the Dipset member - Charly had met him through his childhood friend Cam'Ron - he had been the creative force in his own ByrdGang collective. But afterwards, the two of them had started one of the most persistent beefs in hip-hop's history.

MAX B - Public Domain 6: Walking the Plank

Self-released :: 2009 :: download this mixtape

Under such circumstances, Max B had no latitude to release a proper album while he was free. His one and only, Vigilante Season, would be available in 2011 only, after two years of imprisonment. During this short period, though, he set fire to the mixtapes circuit, with his Public Domain and Million Dollar Baby series. And his last year was particularly rich, with two editions of Coke Wave, his collaboration with the most eminent Moroccan rapper in New-York, French Montana, and two new Public Domain releases, both supported by DJ Big Mike : Quarantine, and Walking the Plank, a project he delivered just after his judgment was rendered.

Before his forced silence, Biggaveli – that's what means the "B" in "Max B" – offered a last sample of his recipe: some kind of muttered but insolent raps, dedicated mostly to girls and his sexual prowess, with a strong appetite for sing-song. His art was reminiscent to the one popularized by 50 Cent a few years earlier, but it went deeper. And its melodic quality was strengthened by a soul music tint, with violins ("All In One Night", "Scream", "What You Want From Me"), lascivious ("Dirty South", "CT Bitches") or falsetto ("Moving On out the Door") songs, and languorous guitars ("Cheaper to Keep Her", "Letter to Stack Bundles").

This last piece of work from Max B added a handful of anthological tracks to his great repertoire: the threatening "Dead Solver", with Mack Mustard, and its dense and heavy chorus; some other great collaborations with French Montana, like "CT Bitches" and the "Cake Remix"; "Porno Muzik", a special kind of romance blurring the border between love and pornography; and the quite melodic "Letter to Stack Bundles", dedicated to the late rapper, a friend of his. The true highlight of Walking the Plank, though, was none of these. It was "I Never Wanna Go Back", a heartbreaking lament written one day before the sentence, about Max B's distress and his refusal to go back to jail. This sounded, retrospectively, like the perfect farewell from the rapper, who could have been one of the very best in the 2010's.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

MAX B - Public Domain 6: Walking the Plank

, 23:21 - Lien permanent

En 1997, alors âgé de 19 ans, Charly Wingate fut envoyé en prison pour des histoires de vols. Il n'allait en sortir qu'en 2005, pour y retourner dès 2009, accusé cette fois, dans des circonstances troubles, d'avoir commandité un meurtre. Il serait alors condamné à une peine longue de 75 ans. Autant dire que le rappeur de Harlem, plus connu sous le nom de Max B, a eu peu de temps pour construire sa légende. D'autant plus que cette période courte fut troublée par ses relations houleuses avec Jim Jones. D'abord parrainé par le membre des Diplomats, qu'il avait rencontré via son ami d'enfance Cam'Ron, et après avoir été le moteur créatif de son collectif ByrdGang, il allait s'embrouiller avec lui, et s'embarquer dans l'un de ces beefs durables et mémorables dont est remplie l'histoire du rap.

MAX B - Public Domain 6: Walking the Plank

Autoproduit :: 2009 :: télécharger la mixtape

Vu les circonstances, Max B n'aurait pas le loisir de sortir de véritable album pendant sa liberté. Son seul et unique, Vigilante Season, n'a été disponible qu'en 2011, après son incarcération. Pendant ce court laps de temps, toutefois, Max B allait mettre le feu au circuit des mixtapes, avec ses séries Public Domain et Million Dollar Baby. La dernière de ces années, 2009, fut elle-même très riche, avec les deux Coke Wave (des collaborations avec le Marocain de New-York French Montana), et deux nouvelles éditions très prisées de Public Domain, toujours avec DJ Big Mike : Quarantine, et ce Walking the Plank sorti juste après son jugement.

Avant un long silence forcé, donc, Biggaveli (l'un des surnoms du rappeur, et la raison du "B" dans "Max B"), proposait une dernière grande mixtape, marquée par son style : un rap marmonné, mais insolent, consacré pour l'essentiel aux filles et au récit de ses exploits sexuels, et qui, à l'heure des refrains, se montrait prompt aux chantonnements. La formule évoquait celle popularisée par 50 Cent quelques années plus tôt, mais elle était déployée avec un plus grand systématisme, et son caractère mélodique était renforcé encore par une coloration très soul, avec des violons ("All In One Night", "Scream", "What You Want From Me"), des chants lascifs ("Dirty South", "CT Bitches") ou en falsetto ("Moving On out the Door"), et des guitares langoureuses ("Cheaper to Keep Her", "Letter to Stack Bundles").

Cette fournée postérieure à la condamnation ajoutait encore quelques titres d'anthologie au répertoire déjà conséquent du rappeur : le menaçant, "Dead Solver", avec Mack Mustard, accompagné à propos de chœurs denses et pesants ; quelques autres manifestations réussies de ses collaborations avec French Montana, comme "CT Bitches" et le "Cake Remix" ; "Porno Muzik", romance d'un genre particulier où le rappeur semblait confirmer qu'il n'y a pas de différence entre amour et pornographie ; ou le très mélodique "Letter to Stack Bundles". Le grand moment de la mixtape, cependant, c'était "I Never Wanna Go Back", un titre déchirant sur son refus de la prison, écrit par Max B la veille du jugement cruel qui allait le condamner au trou pour toujours ou presque, rétrospectivement les adieux de celui qui aurait dû être l'un des grands rappeurs des années 2010.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2009

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2009. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet