JUICY J & LEX LUGER - Rubba Band Business 2

By the end of the naughties, almost two decades after the beginnings of his own Three 6 Mafia, after the apotheosis marked by his Academy Award and the success of "Stay Fly", Juicy J decided to focus on his solo career. He released a couple of albums, Hustle Till I Die in 2009, and Stay Trippy in 2013, but also several mixtapes, including both editions of Rubba Band Business, two collaborative works with Lex Luger. While requiring the help of a producer sixteen years younger than he was, the guy behind Waka Flocka's and Rick Ross' latest bangers, the Memphis veteran obviously wanted to demonstrate that he aged well. And indeed, he did.

JUICY J & LEX LUGER - Rubba Band Business 2

The 110 minutes of the second Rubba Band Business project was indeed an endless suite of juvenile anthems. It was a long hedonist celebration, dedicated to partying, sexing and, more importantly, drugging. Juicy talked about all kinds of substances: kush, lean and others, on tracks like "So Damn Fucked Up". He was motivated by three things only, summarized by the title of one of his many tracks: "Pills Weed Pussy". His most aggressive moments – songs like "Bonbay Gin Dance", "Killa", "Introduce", "Street Shit", and "What the Fuck Y'all On" – set apart, these were his only themes. Considering his jerky flow and the length of this project (28 tracks), this could have been quite boring. But the presence of Lex Luger made it otherwise. His typical formula was still there, like with the great "Inhale"; but it was less brutal than usual. It was even a bit atmospheric, like with "Smoke that Bitch", another outstanding song on that mixtape.

Also, thanks to the guests, this project was delightedly diverse. Truth be told, Sonny Digital sounded a bit too much like Lex Luger on "Me", but other producers imported there their own styles. For example, from "Celebration" to "Paid for Bitch I Own You", the mixtape suddenly turned soul or R&B, thanks to Big Germ's work. And the guest rappers were as diverse as the beatmakers. There again, Juicy J rejuvenated himself with younger guys: Wiz Khalifa – whose Taylor Gang the Three 6 Mafia alumni would join later on – Machine Gun Kelly, Don Trip, Casey Veggies, the guys from Travis Porter on the great "Durr She Go", and Curren$y on "Paid for Bitch I Own", a relaxed track typical of his blunted style. As for Billy Wes, he was his usual R&B crooner there. Actually, beyond Juicy J's own case, Rubba Band Business 2 was about contemporary rap celebrating itself; a kind of rap our Memphis veteran was a godfather for.

Download this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

JUICY J & LEX LUGER - Rubba Band Business 2

, 20:19 - Lien permanent

A la fin de la décennie 2000, près de vingt ans après les débuts de la Three 6 Mafia, et suite aux apothéoses qu'avaient été son Oscar et le succès de "Stay Fly", Juicy J concentrait ses efforts sur sa carrière solo. Il sortait alors quelques albums, Hustle Till I Die en 2009 et Stay Trippy en 2013, mais aussi une ribambelle de mixtapes, la plupart proposées sous son seul nom, certaines en duo avec son frère Project Pat, et d'autres, les deux éditions de Rubba Band Business, en collaboration avec Lex Luger. En débauchant ainsi un producteur de seize ans son cadet, celui qui avait offert à Waka Flocka et à Rick Ross quelques unes des tueries du moment, le rappeur de Memphis, désormais un vétéran, cherchait sans doute à se montrer toujours d'actualité. Et pour tout dire, il y parvenait plutôt bien.

JUICY J & LEX LUGER - Rubba Band Business 2

Trap-A-Holics :: 2011 :: télécharger la mixtape

Les 110 minutes du second Rubba Band Business, le meilleur, étaient en effet une suite inépuisable d'odes juvéniles, une longue célébration hédoniste dédiée à la fête, au sexe, et surtout aux drogues, dont Juicy J abordait tous les types, kush, lean et autres, sur "So Damn Fucked Up" comme ailleurs. Trois choses seules l'intéressaient : "Pills Weed Pussy", pour paraphraser un titre. En plus de bouffées d'agressivité récurrentes ("Bonbay Gin Dance", "Killa", "Introduce", "Street Shit", " What The Fuck Y'all On"), il ne traitait que de ces thèmes. Et compte-tenu de son phrasé saccadé un peu mécanique et de la durée du projet (28 titres), la lassitude aurait dû être au rendez-vous. Mais c'était sans compter sur Lex Luger, qui renouvelait sa formule. Si celle-ci était toujours reconnaissable, comme sur le très bon "Inhale", elle prenait parfois une tournure moins bulldozer qu'à l'habitude, plus atmosphérique, par exemple sur cet autre sommet qu'est "Smoke that Bitch".

Les deux hommes aussi, conviaient assez de gens pour faire varier les plats. Certes, sur "Me", Sonny Digital sonnait plus Lex Luger que nature, mais d'autres producteurs venaient avec leurs registres propres. C'est ainsi, de "Celebration" à "Paid For Bitch I Own You", que la mixtape prenait une coloration soul et R&B, grâce au travail de Big Germ. Même diversité côté rappeurs. Juicy J poursuivait sa cure de jouvence en s'entourant de figures de la nouvelle génération : Wiz Khalifa, dont il rejoindrait le Taylor Gang plus tard en 2011, mais aussi Machine Gun Kelly, Don Trip, Casey Veggies, les gens de Travis Porter sur le très bon "Durr She Go", Curren$y sur un "Paid for Bitch I Own" relax, taillé sur mesure pour son rap enfumé. Et Billy Wes venait quant à lui jouer son rôle de cronner R&B. En fait, au-delà du seul Juicy J, Rubba Band Business 2 était comme une grande célébration du rap de l'époque, un rap dont il était un parrain important, le grand inspirateur.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2011

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2011. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet