Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

JIMMY WOPO - Woponese

, 22:46 - Permalink

As 2016 is coming to an end, it is good to review its new faces, and to choose those we want to remember. Among these is Travon Smart, a.k.a. Jimmy Wopo, a young man from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, who surfaced with the success of his "Elm Street" single. First coopted by local stars Mac Miller and Wiz Khalifa – he is affiliated to the Taylor Gang – he was also praised by Mike Will, performed on stage with Rae Sremmurd, collaborated with Sonny Digital, and shared the mic with Riff Raff and another rising star, 21 Savage, whose "No Heart" he remixed.

JIMMY WOPO - Woponese

Self-released :: 2016 :: download mixtape

Along with the latter, he belongs to the darkest side of rap's next generation, which makes all sense considering his past: his schooling, indeed, was chaotic, and he has been deeply involved into drug dealing and violence – people shot at him, at the exact time he recorded "Elm Street". As a result, his music is tense. Often organized around nervous piano chords, or oppressing synthesizers, it fits perfectly well his ruthless gangsta rap, delivered with the tough heart of someone used to burn his candle at both ends, and who knows that death is lurking close.

Released in summer 2016, his first mixtape is a perfect rendition of this. After having described his lifestyle in a threatening way on "Big Pimpin'", he is paranoid on the outstanding "Ayo". The next track, "Back Door", a collaboration with Sonny Digital – as a rapper – is some kind of gangsta ego-trip, with a hook based on Birdman's and Clipse's "What Happened to that Boy". "Drinkin' Dope" is what it means: a song about getting high. "Elm Street", which is about Wopo's start as a delinquent, is unescapable, with its minimalistic piano, electronic sounds, concise rhymes, and strangled voiced crescendo. And so it goes, on and on, until the end.

Nothing, there, is totally new. But Jimmy Wopo spills his guts out. Thanks to the short length of his mixtape, 20 minutes only, thanks also to the fire or ardor of his young age – 19 – the rapper never stops being intense, all along Woponese. Let's see now how this young man will keep pace, starting with his second mixtape in the year, Trapanese, he released with Hardo, another newcomer in Pittsburgh.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

JIMMY WOPO - Woponese

, 12:46 - Lien permanent

Alors que 2016 touche à sa fin, il est bon de passer en revue les nouveaux visages qu'elle nous a révélée, et de choisir ceux dont on voudrait se souvenir. Parmi eux, figure celui de Travon Smart, un jeune homme issu de Pittsburgh, Pennsylvanie, et que le succès du single "Elm Street" a précipité cette année sur les écrans radar, sous le nom de Jimmy Wopo. D'abord coopté par les rappeurs stars de sa ville, Mac Miller et Wiz Khalifa (il est affilié au Taylor Gang de ce dernier), il a aussi été vanté par Mike Will et s'est produit sur scène avec ses créatures Rae Sremmurd, il a collaboré avec Sonny Digital, puis il a partagé le micro avec Riff Raff et avec une autre valeur montante, 21 Savage, dont il a par ailleurs remixé le "No Heart".

JIMMY WOPO - Woponese

Autoproduit :: 2016 :: télécharger la mixtape

Avec ce dernier, il incarne la tendance la plus ténébreuse de la nouvelle génération rap, en phase avec son passé fait de scolarité décousue, de vente de drogue et de violence (il s'est fait tirer dessus au moment même où il peaufinait "Elm Street"), tout autant qu'avec sa musique tendue. Articulée le plus souvent autour de notes de piano nerveuses, et plus rarement autour de nappes oppressantes, celle-ci sert au mieux son registre gangsta impénitent, délivré avec le cœur dur d'un jeune qui brûle la vie par les deux bouts et qui sent que la fin peut survenir à toute heure.

Sa première mixtape, sortie pendant l'été 2016, rend parfaitement compte de cela. Après y avoir exposé son style de vie de manière menaçante sur "Big Pimpin'", il passe en mode paranoïaque sur le très bon "Ayo". Le titre suivant, "Back Door", sa collaboration avec Sonny Digital (présent ici dans son rôle de rappeur), est une sorte d'égo-trip gangsta, dont le refrain se réapproprie le "What Happened to that Boy" de Birdman et Clipse. "Drinkin' Dope" est ce que son titre signifie, une ode à la défonce. "Elm Street", décidément redoutable avec son piano minimaliste, ses sons électroniques, ses vers courts et sa voix qui s'étrangle en crescendo, relate son entrée en délinquance. Et ainsi de suite, jusqu'à la fin.

Rien de cela n'est vraiment neuf, mais Jimmy Wopo y met les tripes et la manière. Grâce à sa courte durée, celle d'un EP 8 titres de 20 minutes, grâce aussi à l'urgence et à la fougue de ses 19 ans, le rappeur maintient sur Woponese, d'un bout à l'autre, une intensité totale. Il reste à voir combien de temps il gardera ce rythme, en commençant l'examen avec son deuxième projet de l'année, un Trapnese sorti en novembre avec Hardo, autre valeur montante de Pittsburgh.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet