Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

YOUNG M.A - M.A The Mixtape

, 08:16 - Permalink

Until now, Young M.A. hasn't done much. She only released a few songs of her own, and mostly focused on freestyles. It is actually through one of them that her name started buzzing. Built on Nicki Minaj and Lil Herb's "Chiraq", rapped along a few of her RedLyfe PainGang buddies like Rell Markz and LA Danger, and renamed according to her borough, "Brooklyn" was a viral success. Thanks to it, the New-York rapper joined the historical Duck Down Music label – which was somehow logical considering this young woman's brash, virile and intimidating kind of rap.

YOUNG M.A – M.A The Mixtape

Self-released :: 2015 :: download mixtape

Released in March 2015, M.A. The Mixtape isn't her first project. Prior to it, there's been another mixtape, Sleep Walking, supposedly followed by an album, Herstory. Originally scheduled for the summer, the latter was actually not released, which is why we should content ourselves with this compilation of rarities and freestyles delivered on some of today's hits, like Young Thug's "Danny Glover", Bobby Shmurda's "Hot Nigga", Meek Mill's "Levels", Que's "OG Bobby Johnson" or Drake's "6 God".

Each of these track already proved its strength, musically speaking, and Young M.A. ripes the mic with each of them. Unsurprisingly, then, this is quite good. However, even more encouraging, her original tracks are equally strong. Some are just a way for the female MC to demonstrate her rapping skills and her ability to rock the mic, like "Bod Bag". But a few others are quieter and more emotional, like "Dear Bro", and the very melodic "Girlfriend", which could have been just another Auto-Tuned gangsta romance, if it wasn't about the love of a woman for another.

Young M.A., actually, talks proudly, and several times, about her homosexuality. And in most situations, it is not as tender as "Girlfriend". Her freestyles address bitches and hoes with the same harsh and brash words as most male rappers, when they talk about sex. Her gangsta tomboy pose and her verbal versatility have nothing to envy to her masculine peers; they are actually what makes her so noteworthy. But she has even more to show, as demonstrated with great songs like the hitting "Act'n Up", the nice storytelling of "Plottin'", and bangers like "No Trust". They all herald the best. They prove right the words she starts "Pain" with: a lot of these niggas don't know who I am, but they're gonna find out very soon.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

YOUNG M.A - M.A The Mixtape

, 08:16 - Lien permanent

Young M.A, jusqu'ici, n'a pas sorti grand chose. Elle n'a proposé qu'une poignée de titres originaux, et s'est focalisée pour l'essentiel sur des freestyles. C'est d'ailleurs l'un d'eux qui l'a mise en orbite. Construit sur le beat du "Chiraq" de Nicki Minaj et Lil Herb, interprété avec verve avec ses compères du RedLyfe PainGang (Rell Markz, LA Danger), et renommé d'après le quartier d'où la rappeuse est issue, "Brooklyn" a connu un important succès viral, grâce auquel la New-yorkaise a intégré le label historique Duck Down Music. Une signature somme toute logique, pour une jeune femme qui perpétue un rap à l'ancienne, hardi, viril et intimidant.

YOUNG M.A – M.A The Mixtape

Autoproduit :: 2015 :: télécharger la mixtape

Sorti en mars 2015, M.A The Mixtape, n'est pas vraiment son premier grand projet. Celui-ci, une mixtape intitulée Sleep Walking (laquelle devrait être suivie par un album appelé Herstory), n'a pas encore vu le jour, bien qu'il ait été prévu à l'origine pour cet été. En attendant, il faudra donc se contenter de ce qui n'est qu'une compilation de ses rares vrais morceaux, suivis par des freestyles sur quelques tubes et titres marquants de ces derniers temps, le "Danny Glover" de Young Thug, le "Hot Nigga" de Bobby Shmurda, le "Levels" de Meek Mill, le "OG Bobby Johnson" de Que, le "6 God" de Drake, et quelques autres encore.

Les beats de ces morceaux ont tous fait leur preuve, et Young M.A cartonne dessus. Sans surprise, donc, c'est bien. Cependant, plus encourageant encore, les titres originaux se montrent pas mal non plus. Certains sont avant tout un moyen pour la rappeuse d'étaler son bagout et son aisance au micro, comme "Bod Bag". Mais d'autres sont plus posés et jouent de la corde sensible, comme "Dear Bro", et le très mélodique "Girlfriend". Ce dernier, à peu de choses près, aurait pu n'être qu'une chanson d'amour auto-tuné de plus, une nouvelle bluette gangsta anodine et simplette, s'il n'avait pas la particularité de s'adresser de femme à femme.

Son homosexualité, Young M.A la proclame à d'autres reprises, mais la plupart du temps sur un registre moins tendre que celui de "Girlfriend". Sur les freestyles, elle s'adresse aux bitches et aux hoes avec le vocabulaire cru et dominateur dont usent les rappeurs mâles quand ils parlent de sexe. Sa posture de garçonne gangsta, dont l'agilité verbale n'a rien à envier à ses pairs masculins, est l'un de ses grands attraits, d'ailleurs. Mais il y a plus que cela, comme l'indiquent ces très bons titres que sont le percutant "Act'n Up", le bel exercice de storytelling de "Plottin'", et ce tube qu'est "No Trust". Tous augurent du meilleur, et ils pourraient donner raison aux mots lancés par Young M.A en ouverture de "Pain" : "beaucoup de ces niggers ne savent pas qui je suis, mais ils vont bientôt le découvrir".

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet