Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

TOMMY V - Travel Size Drawing Board

, 23:04 - Permalink

Thomas Valencia, a.k.a. Tommy V, is a known name to anyone familiar with Los Angeles' post-Project Blowed scene key players, by the end of the 90's. This rapper, indeed, had been close to the Shape Shifters, and more particularly Awol One. And in 2001, he had released an album, Quarter Life Crisis, with some artists from the Anticon label. Last but not least, along with Xololanxinxo and the Ramos brothers, he had been a member of Toca, a quartet who had managed to mix the punk, indie pop and Latin rap genres, into some messy but exciting kind of music.

TOMMY V - Travel Size Drawing Board

Fake Four :: 2014 :: buy this record

But then, as so many of his fellows, Tommy V had disappeared from our radar screen, for a certain number of years. He had come back in 2012, though, with an album distributed for free on the Internet, and released with the help – naturally – of Ceschi and David Ramos' own label. Actually, Mockingbird would become the most downloaded Fake Four record. Maybe this is what encouraged the rapper to persist, and to release an album in full standard, Travel Size Drawing Board, which looks like a testimony or a revival of Toca's catchiest crossover moments.

Starting with a self-deprecating track arguing that, no, our man is not obsolete ("Obsolete"), this album is full of contradictions: it is, indeed, both depressive and joyful. It is characterized by some happy melancholy, itself underlined by fast and melodious flows. Sometimes, it can sound a bit too emo (see the quite nice "Lament – Life - Love"), but it is saved by Tommy V's humor and playfulness.

Also, this bastardized and eclectic kind of rap definitely rocks, and it excels with everything: with rapped tracks, or instrumental ones; with whistling sounds ("Check the Fridge"), accordions ("The Search"), ska ("Broken English"), circus music ("Blind Optimism"), oriental melodies ("Run With It"), native chants ("Native Ode"), guitars ("Set No Path, Never Lose Your Way"), ethereal feminine voices ("Restless World", "Wander", "If You Need Me…"), and of course the album's main course, a posse cut rapped in Spanish ("Aguacate Con Todo"), or – another indie rap routine – an old school tribute to hip-hop culture ("Drop the Needle").

And so that this comeback is perfect, Tommy V invited California's indie rap usual suspects – or what is left of them in 2014: the Ramos brothers, expectedly; and his friend Awol One, of course, quite eloquent on "Got Clue?"; another great rapper of these days, 2Mex; and some other Shape Shifters affiliates or collaborators, like Existereo, Maleko, and Gel Roc and Regret of EX2; and also Fake Four's in-house singer, Gregory Pepper. A reunion: Travel Size Drawing Board is exactly that, because of the guests on this rock-solid album; and because it fully restores, as is, the spirit of California's indie hip-hop in its heydays.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

TOMMY V - Travel Size Drawing Board

, 22:40 - Lien permanent

Thomas Valencia, alias Tommy V, est un nom familier pour qui a suivi tous les remous de la scène post-Project Blowed à Los Angeles. Le rappeur était l'une des multiples personnes qui évoluaient alors dans le sillage des Shape Shifters. Il avait notamment été aperçu auprès du plus connu de la bande, Awol One, et il avait sorti en 2001 un album, Quarter Life Crisis, où figuraient aussi quelques figures du label Anticon. Enfin, un peu plus tard, il avait accompagné Xololanxinxo et les frères Ramos au sein du quartet Toca, dont le grand mérite avait été de tirer quelque chose de jubilatoire d'un vaste bazar musical punk, indie pop et latin rap.

TOMMY V - Travel Size Drawing Board

Fake Four :: 2014 :: acheter cet album

Comme tant d'autres acteurs de cette scène là, Tommy V a disparu ensuite des écrans radar, pendant plusieurs années. Puis il a refait surface en 2012, avec un nouvel album distribué en téléchargement libre, avec l'aide (sans surprise) de Fake Four, la structure administrée par ses amis Ceschi et David Ramos. Depuis, Mockingbird est devenu le projet gratuit le plus téléchargé du label, ce qui a sans doute encouragé le rappeur à persévérer, et à sortir fin 2014 un album en bonne et due forme. Intitulé Travel Size Drawing Board, ce disque nous ramène aussi aux meilleures heures des projets crossover proposés autrefois par Toca.

Commençant avec autodérision par un titre qui proclame que, non, notre homme n'est pas obsolète ("Obsolete"), l'album joue tout du long des contradictions : il est, en effet, tout à la fois dépressif et gai, il se caractérise par une sorte de mélancolie joyeuse, renforcée par ces phrasés jouant à plein de la vitesse et de la mélodie. La tournure est parfois très emo (cf. le très joli "Lament – Life - Love"), mais elle est sauvée du rédhibitoire par l'humour et par l'entrain de la musique.

Car sur ce dernier point, le moins que l'on puisse dire, c'est que ça secoue et que ça remue avec le rap bâtard, éclectique et sautillant de Travel Size Drawing Board. On y trouve de tout. Des titres rappés, comme des instrumentaux. Des sifflements ("Check the Fridge"), de l'accordéon ("The Search"), du ska ("Broken English"), de la musique de cirque ("Blind Optimism"), des mélodies orientales ("Run With It"), des mélopées amérindiennes ("Native Ode"), des guitares ("Set No Path, Never Lose Your Way"), des chants féminins évaporés ("Restless World", "Wander", "If You Need Me…"), sans oublier le plat de résistance sur cet album, un posse cut rappé en Espagnol ("Aguacate Con Todo"), et puis, autre exercice rituel de la tradition indé, un hommage old school à la culture hip-hop ("Drop the Needle").

Aussi, pour que les retrouvailles soient plus belles, Tommy V s'est entouré des suspects habituels à toute cette scène, ou de ce qu'il en reste en 2014 : les frères Ramos évidemment ; le compère Awol One bien sûr, plutôt en verve sur "Got Clue?" ; l'autre grand nom de cette époque là, 2Mex ; quelques autres Shape Shifters ou affiliés comme Existereo, Maleko, et Gel Roc et Regret d'EX2 ; et puis le chanteur attitré des artistes Fake Four, Gregory Pepper. Des retrouvailles, effectivement : Travel Size Drawing Board est exactement cela, tant par les gens qui sont conviés sur ce vrai bon album, nettement plus solide et travaillé que Mockingbird, que par la résurrection à l'identique de l'esprit d'une époque.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet