Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

SAGE FRANCIS - Copper Gone

, 23:14 - Permalink

We had almost lost sight of Sage Francis. And for a good reason: for four years, he hadn't released any record. He seemed to have stopped rapping, managing his Strange Famous label, or travelling to Africa. Moreover, his previous album, Li(f)e (2010), a collaboration with indie rockers, had not exactly been his most remarkable. So, when he came back in June 2014 with his Copper Gone album, we didn't really care. And we were wrong, since Paul Francis was back, the one we always liked, one of the most emblematic White rappers ever, in the indie scene.

SAGE FRANCIS - Copper Gone

Strange Famous :: 2014 :: buy this record

It is the Sage Francis we love; the angry, fuming and openhearted one. The rock influence, which has always been preeminent in his music, is still there, but like in the past, like with his classic album A Healthy Distrust, like always: through a few furious sounds stolen to this genre; and also, through his posture, through this rage, aimed at himself, as well as at others. Now close to 40, the man from Providence is more furious than ever, delivering some political messages (but not too much), or attacking fake underground rappers on "ID Thieves", a rant some thought was targeted at Macklemore, whom Sage Francis already criticized, in the past, for not paying tributes to the indie people like him, who influenced him.

It is the same old Sage Francis, with his very personal lyrics, his ability to lay himself bare, and his raps written as if they were a personal journal - but wait… Personal Journals, isn't this how he had titled his first album? There, he is going far into confession, talking about relationship issues ("Grace", "Once upon a Blood Moon"), or more extreme things, like his passion… for his cat, the last thing that keeps him alive, according to "Make Em Purr". With him, there is no more reserve. And it is precisely what his detractors never liked: a lack of humor, sometimes, or the absence of distance; this "emo" rap, so dangerously close to the unbearable.

Yes, Sage Francis is like that. He is ballsy, he has guts, and he sounds real. And in addition, he is everything but a weak rapper. Here again, he demonstrates his lyrical skills and proficiency. Last but not least, the beats are great, thanks to a fine selection of indie producers like Reanimator, Alias, Buck 65 and Doomtree's Cecil Otter. They are on par with the raps, either furious and inflamed, like with the single "Vonnegut Busy", "Say Uncle", "MAINT REQD", or melancholic, like with "Grace", "Dead Man's Float", "Thank You", "The Set-Up" and the nice "Make Em Purr"), or something else, like with the electronic "Cheat Codes". Overall, they are just great, making of Copper Gone a great comeback album for Sage Francis.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

SAGE FRANCIS - Copper Gone

, 23:15 - Lien permanent

On l'avait presque perdu de vue, Sage Francis. Quatre années sans sortir un disque, à abandonner le rap pour gérer son label, ou pour séjourner en Afrique, ça avait été long. Et puis son dernier album, Li(f)e, en 2010, où il s'était essayé à collaborer avec des musiciens venus de l'indie rock, n'avait pas franchement été son plus retentissant. Il lui manquait la dureté et la férocité qui ont toujours fait la force de son rap. Quand il est réapparu en juin 2014 avec ce nouvel opus, Copper Gone, nous ne nous sommes donc pas nécessairement précipités dessus. Et nous avons eu tort, car c'est bel et bien le même Paul Francis, autrefois l'une des figures les plus emblématiques du rap indé de Blancs, qui a refait surface ici.

SAGE FRANCIS - Copper Gone

Strange Famous :: 2014 :: acheter le disque

C'est celui que l'on aime, emporté, enragé, à vif. L'influence rock, qui a toujours été prééminente chez lui, n'a pas disparu. Mais elle est présente comme avant, comme sur le classique A Healthy Distrust, comme elle l'a toujours été chez Sage Francis, via quelques sons furieux empruntés à ce genre ("Pressure Cooker", "ID Thieves"). Elle est là aussi dans l'esprit, dans cette rage orientée autant contre les autres que contre lui-même. A bientôt 40 ans, l'homme de Providence est toujours en colère, donnant dans la politique (un peu), ou s'en prenant aux faux rappeurs underground, sur "ID Thieves", une diatribe où il ne nomme personne, mais qu'on jurerait orientée contre Macklemore, que Sage Francis a déjà accusé d'avoir tout pris aux indés comme lui, sans avoir eu l'élégance de leur renvoyer l'ascenseur.

On retrouve aussi Sage Francis dans ses textes personnels, dans sa volonté de se mettre à nu et à écrire ses raps comme un journal intime (après tout, n'était-ce pas là le titre de son premier album, Personal Journals ?). Ici, il va loin dans la confession, nous parlant de problèmes relationnels ("Grace", "Once Upon A Blood Moon"), comme de choses encore plus extrêmes, pour un rappeur, par exemple sa passion pour… son chat, presque la dernière chose pour le rattacher à l'existence, d'après "Make Em Purr". Avec lui, il n'y a plus de pudeur. C'est d'ailleurs bien ce qui continuera à poser problème à ses détracteurs : une carence d'humour, une absence de distance qui donnent à son rap ce tour "emo" presque insoutenable.

Mais avec Sage Francis, tout cela est couillu, prend aux tripes, sonne vrai. D'autant plus qu'il est tout sauf un mauvais rappeur, exhibant à nouveau son aisance verbale. Et pour couronner le tout, les sons, fournis par une belle brochette de producteurs indé (Reanimator, Alias, Buck 65 et Cecil Otter de Doomtree), sont à la mesure des paroles, tantôt rageurs et enflammés (le single "Vonnegut Busy", "Say Uncle", "MAINT REQD"), tantôt mélancoliques ("Grace", "Dead Man's Float", "Thank You", "The Set-Up" et le très beau "Make Em Purr"), et autres choses encore (un "Cheat Codes" électronique). Dans l'ensemble, ils sont très aboutis, consacrant en Copper Gone un retour gagnant pour Sage Francis.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet