LIL WAYNE - Sorry 4 the Wait

People got bored, after all the craze around the Dedication and Da Drought series. Or, possibly, they were convinced that Lil Wayne was now on a downward slope. Or maybe it was no longer surprising, in the 2010's, to have rappers releasing mixtapes that were better than their official albums. It had become a standard. Another theory might be that Weezy himself was now outpaced by the transformation this musical format was quickly going through: mixtape were genuine albums nowadays, and no longer compilations of freestyles on existing songs. Anyway, whatever the reason, Sorry 4 the Wait generated less expectations than his previous mixtapes.

LIL WAYNE - Sorry 4 the Wait

As the title implied, it had been a long wait before this follow-up to Lil Wayne's work was finally disclosed, due to his time in prison, his reinvention as a rock star on the Rebirth album, and the mild I Am Not a Human Being. His fans, actually, had expected a fourth episode to his Tha Carter series. This album would ultimately be available, but Sorry 4 the Wait, released one month before, was somehow its appetizer. It didn't help fans to get really patient, though. Many would be critical about this mixtape. They found that Lil Wayne was less inspired than in the past, that he rapped as an autopilot, with standard lyrics about getting high and having sex, and that he relied too much on the quality of his musical selection, instead of sublimating it.

It is true that Lil Wayne's choices were not the riskiest, with Maybach Music bangers like Rick Ross' and Meek Mill's "Tupac Back", or Gunplay's and Waka Flocka's "Rollin'". In a similar vein, Weezy also selected the latter's "Grove St. Party", collaborating with Lil B – and inadvertently starting a beef between The Game and The Based God. He also had "Gucci Gucci", from white female rap's phenomenon Kreayshawn, or "Marvins Room" and "My Last", respectively from Drake and from Big Sean, the mellow rappers of the days. And also the extremely popular "Rolling in the Deep" from Adele, and "Run the World (Girls)" from Beyoncé. It would be unfair, though, to state that the strengths of Sorry 4 the Wait only relied on the original material.

When substituting Miguel's tedious R&B song with his raps on "Sure Thing", so that he only kept the banging instrumental, or when changing YC's linear flow for his own lunatic rants on "Racks", Lil Wayne showed that he still excelled at transcending the tracks he had chosen. The main flaw of that mixtape, as a matter of fact, was that it had arrived too late. In reality, it was at a similar level as No Ceilings, the previous one, he had released two years before. It had exactly the same strengths and weaknesses. It was just a matter of timing if this post-hype Sorry 4 The Wait had not been celebrated as it deserved: as another milestone in Lil Wayne's mixtape discography, and probably the best thing he would offer to his fans in the 2010's.

Download this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

LIL WAYNE - Sorry 4 The Wait

, 16:02 - Lien permanent

Peut-être y a-t-il eu un phénomène de ras-le-bol, après l'engouement qui s'était manifesté pour ses séries Dedication et Da Drought. Peut-être avions-nous déjà intégré, en 2011, le fait que Lil Wayne était engagé sur la pente descendante. Peut-être encore que ce qui avait été une singularité dans la décennie précédente, des mixtapes sorties par un rappeur majeur, parfois meilleures que ses albums officiels, étaient-elles devenu la norme après 2010. Ou bien Weezy était-il dépassé par la nouvelle direction prise par ce format musical, qui n'était déjà plus une compilation ou un détournement de titres existants, mais bel et bien une collection d'inédits. Toujours est-il que Sorry 4 The Wait n'a pas bénéficié, à sa sortie, des mêmes faveurs que les mixtapes sorties par le rappeur quelques années plus tôt.

LIL WAYNE - Sorry 4 The Wait

Autoproduit :: 2011 :: télécharger la mixtape

Comme le titre l'indiquait, ça faisait longtemps qu'on espérait une suite aux travaux de Lil Wayne, après son passage en prison, ses errements rock de l'album Rebirth, et un I Am Not a Human Being en demi-teinte. Ses fans attendaient un quatrième volet de Tha Carter, qui puisse être du même tonneau que les deux précédents. Il sortirait en fait un mois après ce Sorry 4 The Wait qui, en dépit de son intitulé, ne semble pas avoir permis aux fans de prendre leur mal en patience. On a fait plusieurs reproches à cette mixtape : celui de montrer un Lil Wayne moins inspiré que les fois précédentes, rappant en pilotage automatique sur ses thèmes habituels du sexe et de la défonce ; celui de reposer sur la sélection musicale du rappeur, plutôt que sur sa capacité à l'illuminer de ses freestyles.

Il est vrai qu'avec ses choix, Lil Wayne pouvait difficilement se tromper : il mettait en branle des rouleaux compresseurs signés Maybach Music, le "Tupac Back" de Meek Mill et Rick Ross, et le "Rollin'" de Gunplay et Waka Flocka Flame ; dans le même genre bulldozer, il y avait aussi le "Grove St. Party" du dernier cité, où Weezy croisait le fer avec Lil B (lançant par la même occasion un beef entre Game et le BasedGod) ; le tube "Gucci Gucci" de ce qui était alors le phénomène féminin de l'époque, Kreayshawn ; le "Marvins Room" et le "My Last" des rappeurs guimauve de saison, respectivement Drake et Big Sean ; et ces chansons très grand public qu'étaient le "Rolling in the Deep" d'Adele et le "Run the World (Girls)" de Beyoncé. Il serait injuste, toutefois, de considérer que les bons moments de Sorry 4 The Wait reposaient uniquement sur ses morceaux d'origine.

En substituant ses raps aux chants R&B fades de Miguel sur "Sure Thing", pour n'en garder que l'instru canon, en troquant le débit linéaire d'YC sur "Racks" contre son flow de possédé, et tirer profit d'un beat de Sonny Digital, Lil Wayne savait encore transcender les titres choisis. Le seul défaut de cette mixtape, c'était d'arriver trop tard. Car à bien y regarder, elle était en tout point comparable à celle d'avant, No Ceilings, sortie deux ans plus tôt. Ses défauts et ses qualités étaient les mêmes. Ce n'est qu'une question de timing, si Sorry 4 The Wait n'a pas été célébré à sa juste mesure : comme une autre mixtape plutôt réussie signée Weezy, peut-être même la meilleure chose qu'il proposera dans la décennie 2010.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2011

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2011. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet