GUCCI MANE - The BurrPrint: The Movie 3D

Italy's famous writer Umberto Eco stated it clearly in his books: innovation and novelty are recent concepts. They are also overvalued. What people enjoy, at the end of the day, is their complete opposite: it is the recurrence, the repetition, the perpetual return to the same forms. What they like is the infinite variation of one single pattern. It is obvious with movies, where cycles, sequels and reboots are becoming the norm with blockbusters. And it is also visible with rap music, with the continuous release of mixtapes offering to the audience what it already knows, instead of new artistic manifestos. And the rapper who understood this mechanism the best, the one who used it in the most systematic way, is obviously Gucci Mane.

GUCCI MANE - The BurrPrint: The Movie 3D

Self-released :: 2009 :: download mixtape

Let's take The Burrprint (the Movie 3D) as an example. Released in October 2009, it was the third installment of The Movie series, the Atlanta rapper had started one year before with DJ Drama's assistance. It was, also, the third edition of a series of six mixtapes, Gucci Mane had released in the half-year when he wasn't imprisoned. And one year later, in 2010, it would have its own sequel, The Burrrprint 2 HD. As expected, it delivered the usual recipe, the one popularized by the trap music master from Atlanta: some sexist and materialistic kind of rap, with lyrics bordering the absurd, delivered with an indolent and metronomic flow, on synthetic melodies, with a strong taste for humoristic punchlines and catchy tunes.

This new demonstration of Gucci Mane's style, though, benefited from a special reception. Never before, indeed, had he come so close to recognition, and to mainstream acceptance. The rapper, who had recently joined Warner Music, was in his crossover year. 2009, also, coincided with the launch of his 1017 Brick Squad, and some of his protégés, like Waka Flocka Flame and OJ da Juiceman, featured on The Burrprint (the Movie 3D), a mixtape many consider as one of his very best.

Ranking Gucci Mane's projects was never an easy job. And 2009 was so great a year for him, that honoring one project over the others would be adventurous. That mixtape, though, had definitely some key assets. The wacky ego-trip on "Dope Boys", the wealthy anthem "Yelp I Got Alot of That", the Shawty Redd-assisted "Foreign", and the trumpeting "Flexin", a posse cut with his Brick Squad crew, are some of them. Overall, with its first-class beats from Drumma Boy and Zaytoven, the entire mixtape was pleasant, up through the R&B quirk on "More".

On one skit there, Gucci Mane took a dig at the guy who, by then, was the uncontested emperor of hip-hop: "first question: Jay-Z is the greatest rapper alive? Survey says: that's a lie". This looked like some ordinary bragging, for the rapper. And though, he was perfectly right. At a time when the New-Yorker was at the top of his fame, Gucci Mane, with his mixtapes, invented the future. One represented an old legacy, New-York's nineties classic hip-hop, while the other laid the foundations of the next rap decade. For that reason, what's to be remembered from the year 2009 is certainly not The Blueprint 3. It is The Burrprint, definitely.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

GUCCI MANE - The BurrPrint: The Movie 3D

, 11:22 - Lien permanent

Umberto Eco l'a proclamé avec force dans plusieurs de ses écrits : l'innovation, la nouveauté, sont des préoccupations récentes. Leurs vertus sont toutes relatives. Ce que les gens apprécient, au contraire, c'est la répétition, c'est la rengaine, c'est l'éternel retour. C'est la déclinaison à l'infini des mêmes motifs. On l'observe dans le cinéma actuel, avec les suites et les remakes fréquents apportés aux grands blockbusters. On le voit aussi dans le rap d'aujourd'hui, avec la sortie continue de mixtapes, qui se soucient bien plus d'offrir aux fans ce qu'ils attendent déjà, que d'évolution artistique. Et le rappeur qui a compris le mieux ce mécanisme, celui qui en a usé avec le plus grand systématisme, c'est bien entendu Gucci Mane.

GUCCI MANE - The BurrPrint: The Movie 3D

Autoproduit :: 2009 :: télécharger la mixtape

Prenons The Burrprint (the Movie 3D). Sorti en octobre 2009, ce projet a été le troisième volet de la série The Movie, entamée l'année d'avant sous l'égide de DJ Drama. Il a été aussi le troisième d'une suite de six mixtapes livrées par Gucci Mane dans cette moitié de l'année où il n'a pas été en prison. Et il bénéficiera lui-même d'une suite, The Burrrprint 2 HD, en 2010. Comme attendu, il nous révélait la recette éternelle, habituelle au maître d'Atlanta : du rap sexiste et matérialiste poussé au comble de l'absurde, délivré avec un phrasé indolent et métronomique, sur de petites ritournelles synthétiques, le tout avec un talent certain pour la formule humoristique choc et pour ces petites mélodies qui vous collent à la tête.

Cet énième avatar du style caractéristique à Gucci Mane, toutefois, a bénéficié d'un accueil particulier. Sorti l'année où le rappeur, désormais chez Warner, n'a jamais approché d'aussi près la reconnaissance et le succès public, celle aussi où il a contribué à lancer la carrière de ses protégés du 1017 Brick Squad, Waka Flocka Flame et OJ da Juiceman notamment, tous deux présents ici, The Burrprint (the Movie 3D) est souvent considéré comme l'une de ses toutes meilleures mixtapes.

En vérité, hiérarchiser les innombrables sorties de Gucci Mane n'a jamais été chose aisée, et cette année a été un trop grand cru pour affirmer trop vite que ce projet en a été le meilleur, mais il est vrai qu'il ne manque pas d'arguments. L'égo-trip farfelu de "Dope Boys", l'ode à la réussite matérielle qu'est "Yelp I Got All of That", ce "Foreign" avec Shawty Red, le trompetant "Flexin'", un hymne collectif avec l'ensemble du Brick Squad, en font tous partie. Et dans l'ensemble, avec ses beats composés en majorité par le fidèle Zaytoven et par Drumma Boy, c'est toute la mixtape qui se montre plaisante, jusqu'à la foucade R&B de "More".

Dans l'un des interludes de la mixtape, Gucci Mane lançait une pique contre celui qui, en ce temps là, occupait encore le trône incontesté d'empereur du hip-hop : "première question, Jay-Z est-il le plus grand rappeur en vie ? D'après une étude, c'est un mensonge". Hâblerie ordinaire, de la part de l'homme d'Atlanta. Et pourtant, il avait tout à fait raison. A l'heure où le New-Yorkais était au faite de sa gloire, Gucci Mane, avec son rap produit en série, inventait le futur. L'un tirait son prestige d'un héritage qu'il avait capté, celui du classic rap new-yorkais des années 90, pendant que l'autre posait les bases de la décennie à venir. Aussi, de l'année 2009, plutôt que The Blueprint 3, devons-nous retenir The Burrprint.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2009

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2009. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet