FUTURE & DJ ESCO - 56 Nights

In 2014, while Future and his clique were sojourning in the Emirates, on their way to a prestige weekend taking place by the time of Abu Dhabi's grand prix, DJ Esco was arrested in the Dubai airport with a few grams of marijuana. UAE authorities don't joke with drugs, and he was sent for 56 nights in a local prison. In early 2015, a few weeks after his liberation, he named his new mixtape according to this unpleasant experience, and expectedly, this was talking about personal torments. Future, however, didn't say a word about his DJ's misadventure on this release: on the opposite, he focused on his own emotional troubles, and closed the great mixtapes trilogy inspired by his break-up with Ciara, he had started after Honest.

FUTURE & DJ ESCO - 56 Nights

Free Bandz :: 2015 :: buy this mixtape

We've heard it all before, on Monster and Beast Mode. On this short project, Future pursued his psychotherapy, and he fought his heartache with debauchery. On 56 Nights, the Atlanta rapper talked about escaping his sad feelings through an emotionless and disincarnated kind of sexuality, or through drugs, in the sing-song style he had heralded, a few years before. This third edition of his trilogy, though, was very different from the previous one. There was no Zaytoven on this mixtape, but other kinds of beats, produced by the 808 Mafia – and mostly Southside. The tone was less triumphal, the music was more ethereal, or even scraggy, on tracks like "Purple Comin In" and "Now". It was more blurry, less catchy. And this feeling was strengthened by Future own raps; quite often, they were muttered and low.

This blackness had various nuances. We had deathly choruses on "Diamonds from Africa", a track where, for once, Future had the beginning of a social conscience. We had a strident and minimalist synthesizer on "No Compadre", sirens and a bass on "Trap Niggas" – a song so good he would reuse it on his next album, DS2 – and the sad piano of a sumptuous closing track, the eponymous "56 Nights". One track, though, the only one not produced by Southside – Tarentino was the man in charge, there – shone differently from the others. With lyrics running from rap's routine misogyny to a charge against police violence, "March Madness" was a pivotal song and the best, on this third manifestation of Future's resurrection.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless
  • STEFFLON DON - Real Ting STEFFLON DON - Real Ting

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

FUTURE & DJ ESCO - 56 Nights

, 23:38 - Lien permanent

Fin 2014, alors que Future et sa bande étaient aux Emirats, en route pour un weekend prestige organisé autour du Grand Prix d'Abou Dabi, DJ Esco fut arrêté à l'aéroport de Dubaï en possession de quelques grammes de marijuana. Comme on ne rigole pas avec la drogue, en ces pays là, il fut expédié en prison, pour n'en sortir que 56 nuits plus tard, en janvier 2015. Quelques semaines après sa libération, sa première mixtape sortie sous son nom depuis son incarcération fut nommée 56 Nights, en référence à cet épisode désagréable. Cependant, s'il y était bien question de tourments personnels, ce nouveau projet sorti avec Future ne se consacrait pas à l'expérience de DJ Esco. Le rappeur, au contraire, s'y exprimait une fois encore sur son propre désordre émotionnel, proposant ici l'ultime volet de sa grande trilogie de mixtapes sorties après Honest et sa rupture avec Ciara.

FUTURE & DJ ESCO - 56 Nights

Free Bandz :: 2015 :: télécharger la mixtape

On connait la chanson. Future l'avait déjà déclinée sur Monster et sur Beast Mode. A nouveau, sur ce projet court de 10 petits morceaux, il poursuivait sa thérapie d'un genre particulier, noyant son chagrin d'amour dans la débauche et les excès. Sur 56 Nights, le rappeur nous parlait de fuite dans un sexe sans affection, désincarné, et plus encore, d'évasion par la drogue, toujours avec ce chanté-rappé caractéristique, dont il a été l'un des grands propagateurs. Le troisième volet de sa trilogie se distinguait pourtant du précédent, marqué par la production relevée de Zaytoven. Sur celui-ci, au contraire, dont les sons étaient signés par la 808 Mafia, principalement représentée par Southside, le ton était moins triomphal, la musique plus atmosphérique, voire décharnée (écoutez donc "Purple Comin In" et "Now"). Ses contours étaient plus indécis, ses accroches moins évidentes. Et cette impression était renforcée par les raps de Future, parfois marmonnés, rentrés.

Cette noirceur pouvait prendre des formes distinctes, celle des éloquents chœurs funèbres de "Diamonds From Africa", où Future partageait un soupçon de conscience sociale, celle du synthétiseur strident et minimaliste de "No Compadre", des sirènes, des basses et des nappes de "Trap Niggas" (un titre si bon qu'il sera recyclé sur l'album qui suivra, DS2), ou bien du piano triste du somptueux morceau conclusif, l'éponyme "56 Nights". Une seule plage, plus lumineuse, rompait avec la forme rugueuse de cette mixtape, la seule produite par un autre que Southside (Tarentino en l'occurrence). Ce titre, qui s'accommodait autant des saillies misogynes usuelles que d'allusions à la violence policière, c'était "March Madness", l'exception qui confirmait la règle, mais aussi le morceau pivot du projet de ce troisième tir gagnant du rappeur le plus important de notre temps.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet