SNOW THA PRODUCT - Unorthodox

Kreayshawn, Lil Debbie, V-Nasty, Iggy Azalea, Kitty Pride and so many others… The new decade started with an eruption of female rappers, whose particularity, in addition to their gender, was their white skins. Truth be said, not all were memorable, and some have already disappeared from our radar screens. If one of them needs to be remembered, though, let's vote for Claudia Feliciano, a Mexican American who named herself Snow White - and later on Snow Tha Product - because her skin pigmentation appeared to be lighter than her Latina peers'.

SNOW THA PRODUCT – Unorthodox

Street Science Entertainment :: 2011 :: buy this record

Born in California, Snow started to buzz around the year 2010, when she settled in Texas. By then, she recorded a series of tracks, and three of them, "Drunk Love", "Woke Wednesday", and "Holy Shit", were successful on the Internet. As often in such cases, it opened doors. Subsequently, the rapper connected with local figureheads like Z-Ro and Trae, and she collaborated with some other celebrities like DJ Paul, and Tech N9ne, with whom she's often been compared, because of her superfast flow. By the same period, she was courted by major labels – ultimately, she would join Atlantic – and she released two mixtapes named Good Nights & Bad Mornings, paving the way to an album targeted at a larger audience.

Even before that, though, in 2011, the rapper had self-released another album. It included all three singles mentioned above, and it was already quite satisfying. Unorthodox was its title, and it was a well-chosen one: Snow Tha Product, indeed, was clear that she didn't want to be a stereotype. She wouldn't deliver what was expected from a female rapper, or a Latina. More generally, the album's main theme was about self-assertion: Snow was ready for a fight, she wouldn't let people walk over her. Nothing new, there, in a hip-hop context; but at least she refused to mimic the invulnerable pose of your typical gangsters and bitches.

Snow was almost a feminist, but without the sermonizing moralism or the ideological stance typically going with it. Quite the opposite; the tone of her album was on a more joyous, light, playful, sexy and fantasist side, like with "Maria Felix", a track dedicated to the swag of the Mexican actress. Unorthodox was also full of funny storytelling, like with "Telemundo", a ritornello with mariachi trumpets about the rapper's boyfriend passion for telenovelas. Each song was ideally short, some barely going above one minute, and some would pleasantly whirr the walls of a discotheque. As a result, even the one boringly serious song there, "Like That", about relationship difficulties, was welcome on this overall enjoyable album.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries
  • LIL DEBBIE - Debbie, avr. 2020 LIL DEBBIE - Debbie
  • KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos
  • NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable
  • LEIKELI47 - Acrylic LEIKELI47 - Acrylic
  • ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo
  • CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

SNOW THA PRODUCT - Unorthodox

, 23:09 - Lien permanent

Kreayshawn, Lil Debbie, V-Nasty, Kitty Pride et bien d'autres encore… Le début des années 2010 a été marqué par l'irruption de toute une génération de femmes dans le grand jeu du rap, par l'arrivée d'une ribambelle de rappeuses dont la particularité, en plus d'appartenir au beau sexe, est aussi de ne pas être noires. Il y a cependant à boire et à manger chez toutes ces personnes. Et s'il fallait en extraire une du lot, alors ce devrait être l'Américano-Mexicaine Claudia Feliciano, celle qui s'est fait appeler Snow Tha Product, en référence à Blanche-Neige, du fait d'une peau plus claire que la plupart de ses congénères d'origine latino.

SNOW THA PRODUCT – Unorthodox

Street Science Entertainment :: 2011 :: acheter ce disque

Née en Californie, Snow a commencé à faire parler d'elle à partir de 2010, quand elle s'est installée au Texas. Elle a alors enregistré quelques titres, dont trois, "Drunk Love", "Woke Wednesday" et "Holy Shit", sont devenus de petits tubes sur le Web. La suite de ce succès d'estime fut classique : elle put alors se lier à quelques gloires locales, comme Z-Ro et Trae, et collaborer avec d'autres célébrités du rap comme DJ Paul, ou encore Tech N9ne, à qui elle a souvent été comparée du fait de son flow ultrarapide. Elle a également été courtisée par plusieurs majors (et a choisi de rejoindre Atlantic), et sorti des mixtapes remarquées, les deux volumes de Good Nights & Bad Mornings (2012 et 2013), destinées à préparer le terrain pour un véritable album officiel et grand public.

Avant celui-ci, la rappeuse en aura toutefois proposé un autre dès 2011, en indépendant. Il comportait les trois singles cités plus haut et il apportait déjà entière satisfaction. Unorthodox, tel était son titre, et il était bien choisi : comme elle l'expliquait sur le morceau du même nom, Snow Tha Product était bien décidée, en effet, à ne pas rentrer dans les stéréotypes, celui de la rappeuse de service, celui aussi de la Latine. Plus globalement, le thème de l'album, c'était l'affirmation de soi, l'envie d'en découdre, de ne pas se faire marcher sur les pieds. Soit rien de bien nouveau dans le rap, mais avec un point de vue moins caricatural que la pose invulnérable des gangsters et des bitches.

Snow était presque féministe, osons le mot, mais sans le moralisme pontifiant et la posture idéologique qui va avec. Au contraire, le ton de l'album était plutôt joyeux, léger, ludique, sexy et fantaisiste, comme avec ce "Maria Felix", dédié au swag de l'actrice mexicaine du même nom. Unorthodox était plein de storytelling rigolo, comme avec "Telemundo", une ritournelle aux irrésistibles trompettes de mariachi, où la rappeuse nous parlait de son copain scotché devant des telenovelas. Tous les titres, aussi, étaient idéalement courts, certains faisant à peine plus d'une minute, et plusieurs se destinaient à faire vrombir les murs du club. Du coup, même le morceau sérieux et chanté sur les difficultés de la vie en couple ("Like That"), ailleurs rédhibitoire, coulait tout seul sur cet album attachant.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2011

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2011. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet