KING LOUIE - Tony

Chief Keef still releases strong projects, but since he was fired from Interscope, the individual representing the best the dirtiest side of Chicago's street rap, in 2014, is King Louie, the very pioneer of the drill movement. He did it in the early summer with Tony, a release many acknowledge as his very best to date. And actually, it is one of his most consistent; one of his most monochromatic as well, since, as alluded with the cover art, it uses one single color only: the black one.

KING LOUIE - Tony

Lawless Inc. :: 2014 :: download mixtape

Drill has often been presented as the Chicagoan take on Atlanta's own trap music. Tony, though, nuances this statement. It has its own strong features. Some tracks are shimmering and relentless, they are full of bombastic synthesizers, like the great "Sheesh", "Till I Met Selena" or the scary "G.O.D.". Or, still in the Atlanta way, King Louie delivers some tracks full of Auto-Tune, on "Michael Jackson Money", exactly as he did, in a much more systematic way, on last year's Jeep Music mixtape. These, however, are not the most memorable moments on Tony.

The best tracks are slow, swampy and desperate ones: the remarkable "B.O.N.", at the beginning of the mixtape, or later on "Difference", with its heavy synthesizers and the hook from Slitta, the sober "God & King" with Chi Hoover, and "Would You Believe It". And with its saturated bass, the cynical "Day" is even more unsettling. Though humor has a place on this mixtape – on "Fuck Nigga", on "Why They Hating on Me" – the tone is pessimistic and subdued. It feels colder and more northern than the exalted gangsta rap of King Louie's southern peers.

If only one track should be remembered, though, this is "Live & Die in Chicago". Let's state it simply: this is not only the masterpiece of the mixtape, but one of the best rap song released this year, period. It doesn't require much, though: just a few piano key, a few shouts and onomatopoeias, and a diction which, from the beginning to the end, stays exactly the same. King Louie doesn't need more to talk about his city and to expose his love/hate relationship with the "murder capi' of America". By the end of the song, King Louie says "I'm the heart of Chicago". He is right, indeed. In 2014, Louie le Grand is exactly that: he is the high king of Chiraq.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

KING LOUIE - Tony

, 17:00 - Lien permanent

Chief Keef étant plus difficile à suivre, depuis son renvoi d'Interscope, et malgré des sorties récentes plus que notables, il est revenu au pionnier de la drill music, King Louie, d'incarner en 2014 la facette la plus sale et la plus street du rap de Chicago. Il l'a fait au début de l'été avec Tony, un projet reconnu par beaucoup comme son plus solide à ce jour. En tout cas l'un de ses plus consistants et monochromes, tant il privilégie une couleur : la noire, à l'instar de la pochette.

KING LOUIE - Tony

Lawless Inc. :: 2014 :: télécharger la mixtape

On a souvent considéré la drill comme une version chicagoane de la trap music en vigueur plus au Sud. Tony, cependant, apporte des nuances à cette comparaison, il met en valeur des traits propres. Il y a bien quelques titres trépidants et clinquants, riches en synthés pétaradants, comme le très réussi "Sheesh", "Till I Met Selena" et le traumatisant "G.O.D.". Ou bien, autre exercice prisé à Atlanta, King Louie fait du rappé-chanté sous auto-tune avec "Michael Jackson Money", comme il l'avait déjà fait massivement l'année passée, sur la mixtape Jeep Music. Mais les passages les plus remarquables de Tony ne se limitent pas à ceux-là.

Ce sont avant tout ses titres les plus lents, les plus poisseux, les plus désespérés. Il y a par exemple, d'entrée, ce remarquable "B.O.N.", et plus tard ce "Difference", souligné par des nappes lourdes et un refrain chanté de Slitta, ce "God & King" dépouillé, où il est accompagné par Chi Hoover, ou encore "Would You Believe It". Plus oppressant encore, avec ses basses saturées, est le cynique "Day". Même si l'humour n'est pas absent de cette mixtape (cf. "Fuck Nigga", "Why They Hating on Me"), tout cela concourt à lui donner un ton plus pessimiste et résigné, plus nordique en somme, que le gangsta rap souvent plus exalté des cousins du Sud.

S'il fallait un titre pour résumer cela, alors ce serait "Live & Die in Chicago", le centre de cet album, et l'un de meilleurs titres rap sortis cette année. Il ne lui faut pas grand-chose pourtant, à ce morceau. Quelques touches de piano, une poignée d'exclamations et d'onomatopées, et une diction qui, tout au long, sur les couplets comme pendant les refrains, demeure strictement la même, pour que King Louie nous parle de sa ville, pour qu'il nous parle de son rapport d'amour-haine avec une métropole qu'il désigne comme la capitale américaine du meurtre, pour qu'il s'identifie à elle. "Je suis le cœur de Chicago", déclare-il vers la fin. Et en effet, en 2014, avec Tony, Louie le Grand s'affirme bel et bien comme le roi de Chiraq.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet