KEVIN GATES - By Any Means

By Any Means was released in early 2014. It is the third mixtape in twelve months for Kevin Gates, and it is once again an outstanding one. The Baton Rouge rapper persists with the style that made The Luca Brasi Story and Stranger than Fiction two of the most successful projects in 2013. This time again, he shows up as an emotional criminal. He is still posturing as a suffering gangster. He is also still good with melodies, and thanks to them and to the Atlantic label, he has recently joined, he should be a star soon, though his is still some kind of harsh street rap.

KEVIN GATES - By Any Means

Kevin Gates is good at delivering threatening trap anthems, like "Keep Fucking with Me", jointly with the good old Plies. On one hand, his stories are about revenge and urban violence ("Homicide"), drug trafficking (the excellent "Arm and Hammer") and road to riches ("Just Want Some Money"), and he is still tough with the competition in his ‘hood ("Get Up on My Level"). But on the other one, he shows a sensitive face, for example with the delicate "Movie", a song about the births of his children. And sometimes, both registers, the rude and the fragile ones, are combined into one song, like with the great "Can't Make This Up", where the rapper talks about the trials he went through in his life, and shows up as a survivor. Such is the case as well with "Posed to Be in Love", where Kevin Gates, a harmed lover, falls into domestic brutality.

The music is on par with this torn and paradoxical character, Kevin Gates excels at impersonating. There are a few catchy hooks on By Any Means, like with "Again" and the unstoppable "Wish I Had It", and even some syrupy R&B, with Rico Love’s contribution to "Go Hard". However, the mixtape also has gleaming synthetic beats, as typical with trap music, electronic oddities like "Stop Lyin'", and some shady sounds, like with that "Amnesia" recorded with Doe B, just before the promising Alabama rapper was shot down, by the end of 2013.

Once again, Kevin Gates shows he is a figurehead in a new wave of rappers, those who are as brutal and rude as before, but also more vulnerable. He is one of the most accessible among them, as demonstrated by the bangers on the mixtape. Unless there is an accident, unless Kevin Gates gets scared by his success or he goes to prison, he is on a highway to stardom.

Download this mixtape

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately ICE BURGANDY - Progress Involves Risk Unfortunately
  • MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer MAX B - Public Domain 2: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love HONEY COCAINE - Thug Love
  • KASH DOLL - Brat Mail KASH DOLL - Brat Mail
  • MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World MOLLY BRAZY - Molly World
  • QUEEN KEY - Your Highness QUEEN KEY - Your Highness
  • RICO NASTY - Nasty RICO NASTY - Nasty
  • OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless OMB PEEZY & SHERWOOD MARTY - Young and Reckless

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

KEVIN GATES - By Any Means

, 23:16 - Lien permanent

Sortie début 2014, By Any Means est la troisième mixtape en un an pour Kevin Gates, et c'est toujours du très bon. Le rappeur de Baton Rouge y persévère dans le style qui a fait de The Luca Brasi Story et de Stranger than Fiction des réussites, et deux des sorties les plus remarquées de 2013. Il y affine toujours plus sa posture de gangster qui souffre, de criminel lourdement chargé en émotions. Il continue aussi à proposer des titres mélodiques qui, quand il tirera tous les bénéfices de sa signature chez Atlantic, devraient pouvoir triompher à la radio, mais qui gardent quelque chose encore des rudesses de la rue.

KEVIN GATES - By Any Means

Breadwinners Association :: 2014 :: télécharger la mixtape

Kevin Gates sait donner dans l'hymne trap menaçant, comme avec "Keep Fucking With Me", en compagnie de Plies. Il partage avec nous des histoires de vengeance et de violence urbaine ("Homicide"), il nous parle de trafic de drogue (l'excellent "Arm And Hammer") et de rêves de richesse ("Just Want Some Money"), il règle ses comptes avec les jaloux de son quartier ("Get Up On My Level"). Mais il cultive aussi son côté sensible, sur le délicat "Movie", par exemple, un récit touchant sur la naissance de ses enfants. Et souvent, les deux registres, le fier-à-bras et le fragile, se concilient, comme sur un très bon "Can't Make This Up", où le rappeur revient sur les épreuves de la vie, et s'affiche, avec incrédulité, comme un survivant, et encore sur ce "Posed to Be in Love" où, amant blessé, Kevin Gates verse avec férocité dans la violence domestique.

La musique traduit cet entre-deux où Kevin Gates s'épanouit le mieux. On trouve sur By Any Means des titres aux refrains chantés comme "Again", et l'imparable "Wish I Had It", voire du R&B sirupeux, comme avec les chants de Rico Love sur "Go Hard". Mais la mixtape dévoile aussi des beats synthétiques rutilants, typiques du style trap, des bizarreries électroniques ("Stop Lyin'"), ainsi que des sons plus glauques, comme sur cet "Amnesia" enregistré avec Doe B avant que le jeune espoir de l'Alabama ne périsse sous les balles fin 2013.

Encore une fois, Kevin Gates prouve qu'il est l'un de meilleurs représentants de cette vague de rappeurs qui, toujours aussi gangsters que ceux d'avant, se montrent plus vulnérables. Il est aussi l'un des plus accessibles, les tubes de cette mixtape le démontrent encore. Sauf accident, sauf peur du succès et sauf nouveau détour par la case prison, un boulevard devrait s'ouvrir à lui.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet