Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

CESCHI - Interview

, 10:18 - Permalink

"I am one of the few remaining advocates and proponents of progressive hip-hop today". Thus says Ceschi Ramos, in our last interview with him. And he is perfectly right. Through the Fake Four label, he manages with his brother David, and through his multiple activities (and when not hampered by some legal problems...), the rapper is the one making the most today to maintain alive the indie rap scene, as it appeared in the 90's. It was logical, then, that he shares with us his vision about this subgenre, as part of our indie rap series.

The "indie rap series" is a cycle of interviews organized with some key activists of the late 90's / early 2000's independent rap scene in North America or beyond. Some of them are almost famous, some others less known or forgotten artists. These interviews will help documenting a book, written in French and dedicated to the same scene, and published in 2014, in the same collection as Rap, Hip-Hop''.

If we have a close look at the indie rap movement, we observe that several scenes were part of this, one in New-York around Fondle'em, then Company Flow or the Nuyorican Poets Café, the West Coast Underground and the post-Project Blowed scene in California, the Midwest with the Rhymesayers label, and some others in Canada. According to you, were those all different or just one single movement?

Those movements may have started from different places but all had very similar goals and philosophies. It was something similar to punk rock being a reaction to big budget arena rock of the 70s. Hip-hop had reached new levels of commercial viability in the mid and late 90s, while Will Smith was getting "jiggy" with it, the ghost of Biggie was riding yachts, and Puff Daddy seemed to have his hand in every major label rap release at the time. The West Coast gangster sound was diminishing from popular rap while the gritty East Coast sound had been recontextualized and softened. It was a pop rap era of Ja Rule singing gruff voiced next to a number of R&B singers or Missy Elliot driving her Jeep to the beach. Rap had gone soft and safer than ever. It was rather boring and lost the socio-political edge that had originally fueled its fire throughout the mid to late 1980s.

The influence of hardcore punk and indie rock scenes had spread worldwide and it was a thriving era for indie record labels. People were pressing their own tapes and CDs and a number of strong independent distributors were able to place small budget records in stores worldwide. The late 90s were also a peak for music sales in general. All of this contributed to a boom in the indie rap movement of the late 1990s which was sonically somewhat of an extension of what groups like Freestyle Fellowship or Organized Konfusion had been doing since the early 1990s.

By 1996 acts like Company Flow (which 5 years later formed the Def Jux collective label) had made huge waves in hip-hop while embracing a punk rock style anti-corporate, pro-independent ethos. Shortly after, the same message spread nationally and was pushed even further by collectives such as the California based Living Legends and Shape Shifters, or Minneapolis based Rhymesayers Entertainment which embraced lo-fi tape releases and 4 track recording. By the end of the 1990s collective record labels such as Oakland based Anticon or even Canadian based Peanuts & Corn were created as an extension of those same ideals.

Where would you put the limits of this movement, in time, place, or styles?

Context is an important aspect of this analysis because this music has been highly influential to music that followed it. Some of it may sound outdated or "normal" by today's standards but at the time of its creation a lot of this was considered highly progressive.

It should be noted that in this interview, when I refer to the core years of this movement, I'm mainly referring to music from the years 1991 - 2001. It should also be noted that I am focused more on an overarching sound, style and content type than a rigid concept of "indie" since those options were very limited in the early 1990s.

The overall sound of this rap movement is generally defined by beats and lyrics that sounded uncommon at the time of their creation.

The rappers who tended to be categorized under this sound are oftentimes more technically proficient, verbose and poetic than most anything that was being marketed heavily by major labels. The production techniques could vary from retro "throwback" sounds (Jurassic 5) to highly progressive sounding in nature (i.e. Company Flow and Anticon). Lyrically, rappers from this movement tended to come from an extension of "conscious" hip-hop (i.e. KRS-One, Public Enemy).

What is left of this movement today, according to you?

What's left of the movement today is highly splintered into many smaller sects based on certain specific sounds or fashion more than an overarching ethos as it was before. Many of the most supportive independent distributors and record stores closed their doors. There are less magazines, websites or stores interested in this kind of music - and that has lead to a decrease in general awareness and popularity. Still, the scene remains relevant on a grassroots level outside of media attention.

Right now the most dominant indie rap culture in the world today belongs to Minneapolis. Atmosphere's enormous success has catapulted the Rhymesayers Entertainment label into the next bracket. Third wave collectives such as Doomtree in Minneapolis have developed large fan bases while still maintaining a classic indie rap, anti-capitalist and anti-authoritarian stance. Still, those artists maintain a deep respect for the roots of their music scene and have kept a vibrant independent rap scene growing.

Unfortunately most other geographic sects of "indie rap" were spearheaded by artists who weren't as generous to their local scenes or decided to focus on their own careers rather than develop the overall movement. Def Jux was discontinued by El P although he and certain label mates still maintain successful music careers. Sole left the Anticon collective label that he basically founded but still creates and releases music regularly. Sage Francis runs his own tight knit Strange Famous label and will start releasing his own music on there soon. Project Blowed (umbrella over everyone from 2mex to Busdriver to Freestyle Fellowship) continues to run its open mic in Leimert Park, Los Angeles but has been rather quiet as a label or collective. Los Angeles has, in turn, given birth to a hugely popular "beat scene" based around a weekly event called "Low End Theory" which is closely tied into the hip-hop scene.

What is your personal story with indie rap?

Although I was a rap fan as a young child in the late 1980s/early 90s, my interest in indie rap really started in high school because of the influence of some good friends. Mike King (aka iCON The Mic King) and I met freshman year of high school in 1995 and he basically single handedly influenced my growing interest in hip-hop. I had some interest in graffiti, classic hip-hop and reggae, but Mike introduced me to collectives like Boot Camp, furthered my knowledge of the Wu-Tang, and was eventually the first person to play me the Company Flow Funcrusher Plus cassette. We listened to a weekly college radio hip-hop show on WNHU in West Haven, CT and commonly called in making requests or shout outs.

The Internet was also growing rapidly at this time and introduced us to a whole world of indie rap catalogs (Sandbox Automatic, ATAK etc) and websites that kept us super up to date with what was coming out. I spent every summer with my father in Berkeley, CA, also so in 1998 or 99 we were well aware of what was happening in California with events such as Broke Ass Summer Jam which the Living Legends were putting together every summer until 2001, I believe. By the year 2001 my band (Anonymous Inc.) and I had traveled around California with an 8 track and managed to collaborate with a bunch of artists from the California indie rap scene including La2TheBay affiliates such as Deeskee, Maleko andTommy V, The Shape Shifters, Sole and Dose of Anticon, 2mex and Xololanxinxo of Of Mexican Descent, and Busdriver.

It was a super exciting time for independent hip-hop - it really felt like something important was going on. I just happened to be a teenager learning from all of these guys who were really building a world wide fan base independently in a very DIY fashion. It was inspirational to me and always stuck with me. Today I can only hope to preserve a taste of what excited me so much about this type of music in the first place.

Would you consider yourself as part of this movement? Or is this something you don't like to be pigeonholed into?

Yes, I consider myself part of the third wave of this movement and one of the few remaining advocates and proponents of progressive hip-hop today.

What would be your indie rap albums top 5 or 10?

It's very difficult for me to answer this without referring to some of the most important earlier "underground" hip-hop records:

- Freestyle Fellowship - Inner City Griots
- Beneath the Surface
- Aceyalone - All Balls Don't Bounce
- Company Flow - Funcrusher Plus
- Organized Konfusion - Stress
- Deep Puddle Dynamics
- Mindclouders - Fake It Until You Make It
- The Shape Shifters - Planet of the Shapes
- Awol One & Daddy Kev - Souldoubt
- Of Mexican Descent - Exitos Y Mas Exitos EP
- Busdriver - Temporary Forever
- Clouddead - s/t

What would be your indie rap tracks top 5 or 10?

It's really hard to just pick a few tracks - but here are some of the more important tracks to have influenced me:

- Freestyle Fellowship (Myka 9) - Seventh Seal
- Organized Konfusion - Bring It On
- Of Mexican Descent & Circus - Night & Day
- 3 Melancholy Gypsies - Sunsprayed
- Awol One - Sleeping All Day
- Aceyalone - The Greatest Show on Earth
- Company Flow - The Fire in which you Burn
- Sole - Bottle of Humans
- Shape Shifters - Sacred Geometry
- Busdriver - Imaginary Places

What would be your indie rap artists top 5 or 10?

- Freestyle Fellowship
- Company Flow / El-P
- Organized Konfusion
- Of Mexican Descent
- The Shape Shifters
- 3 Melancholy Gypsies
- Deep Puddle Dynamics
- Eyedea
- Busdriver
- Anti-pop Consortium

Overall, do you think that such a category, indie rap, was or is relevant?

If referring to a certain era of independent rap, yes, it is very relevant. Most importantly, indie rap's influence on mainstream rap today is undeniable. After 2005 or so, mainstream rap started embracing more "weird" production and lyricism. I think it's a direct influence of the seeds sewn by indie rap. Kendrick Lamar, Kanye West or Macklemore are platinum selling major label rap artists today, in 2013 (please notice, the interview took place over the summer 2013), who regularly borrow directly from the independent rap sounds or lyrical styles.

Rap history would not be complete without mentioning the progressive side of the story. The sounds that came out of the boundary pushing late 1990s/early 2000s have clearly left their mark on hip-hop in general. It's very easy for writers to completely ignore indie rap when talking about hip-hop but, in doing so, they would be ignoring the birthplace of monumental stylistic changes in the genre.

Apart from this indie rap subgenre, what would be your diagnosis on the state of hip-hop nowadays? What do you find appealing in today's rap music?

Like rock music before it, hip-hop has simply splintered into many different genres within itself. The initial "one culture" KRS-One concept of hip-hop is now basically passé. Although this culture of hip-hop still lives within the margins of our small independent hip-hop community it has become largely irrelevant. Unlike 20 years ago, today you can put 5 people in a room that all listen to different forms of hip-hop and there could be very little overlap in the artists they all enjoy. Just as the punk rocker wouldn't necessarily love The Beatles, young rap fans tend to have little allegiance or reverence for hip-hop elders.

Furthermore, much like punks starting bands without actually knowing how to play instruments, there's a general lack of interest in skill level as well. It's almost as if the youth has grown up hearing so much skillful rap over the last 10 years on mainstream and independent levels - from artists such as Eminem or Busta Rhymes or Aesop Rock or Pharaohe Monch - that they are now preferring the über simplicity of Waka Flocka Flame or Chief Keef because it requires very little attention and is more based on energy than ability. Although I have my personal criticisms of white bourgeois fetishization of "ignorant rap" by media outlets and hipster culture, I can also recognize the basic inherent rebelliousness that attracts young people to this type of music. In the same way that certain dance tracks can successfully move a crowd for hours without a single rhythmic change, simpler rap can hypnotize and win an audience with proper backing beats and use of incessant repetition.

This is the climate of hip-hop we live in now - it's a time when ANYTHING GOES. Music can be recorded on phones and released easily for free, and there are very few rules. That's the main difference between then and now. The hip-hop I grew up listening to was still rooted in basic hip-hop etiquette - it was not cool to repeat yourself 100 times in one song, it was not cool to sample a song that came out on the radio yesterday, it was not cool to rap at shows over your finalized songs with vocals intact, it was certainly not cool to resample classic hip-hop beats and re-brand them as your own.

Nowadays all of that flies by generally unnoticed or under-criticized. In truth, indie rap actually helped to alter a lot of those original rules and therefore helped change what hip-hop meant. Some of the fads we may hate most in modern rap were first introduced via indie rap outlets. As with all art - the rule books constantly change and fads come and go. The disregard of hip-hop rules and history is actually the thing I find equally appealing and abhorrent about rap music in 2013.

Coming back to you, what are you doing these days? What are your current projects and activities?

I'm actually close to releasing a very limited vinyl-only album called Forgotten Forever with the French label Cooler Than Cucumbers. Aside from that - I'm close to finishing a project with Factor and another collection of singles and new material with DJ Scientist. On top of that I'm working on a collection of acoustic recordings for the DIYBandits label. It's a very busy time for me.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

CESCHI - Interview

, 23:14 - Lien permanent

"Je suis aujourd'hui l'un des derniers avocats et pratiquants de ce type de hip-hop progressif". Voici ce que nous déclare Ceschi Ramos dans cette nouvelle interview. Et il a parfaitement raison. Par son label Fake Four, qu'il anime avec son frère David, par son multi-activisme (et quand il n'est pas confronté à des vilains problèmes avec la justice), le rappeur multi-terrain est celui qui, aujourd'hui, fait le plus pour maintenir en vie la scène rap indé telle qu'elle est apparue à la fin des années 90. Rien de plus logique, en conséquence, qu'il soit consulté sur l'histoire de ce mouvement, dans le cadre de nos indie rap series.

La "indie rap series" est une suite d'interviews, organisée avec des activistes de la scène rap indé nord-américaine des années 90 et 2000, certains un tant soit peu connus, d'autres plutôt obscurs, dont le but est d'alimenter un prochain livre dédié au même sujet, publié prochainement dans la même collection que Rap, Hip-Hop.

Quand on observe de près le mouvement rap indé, on constate qu'il était fait de multiples scènes. Une à New-York autour de Fondle'em, de Company Flow et du Nuyorican Poets Café. En Californie, il y avait l'après Project Blowed, et puis le label Rhymesayers dans le Midwest. Selon toi, en fait, était-ce un seul ou plusieurs mouvements ?

Ces mouvements ont beau avoir démarré en plusieurs endroits, ils avaient en fait des objectifs et une philosophie très proches. Ils étaient similaires au punk rock, qui avait été une réaction au rock à gros budget et destiné aux stades, dans les années 70. Vers le milieu et la fin des années 90, le hip-hop avait franchi de nouvelles phases, en termes de viabilité commerciale. A cette époque, Will Smith tournait jiggy, le fantôme de Biggie pilotait des yachts, et Puff Daddy semblait impliqué dans toutes les sorties sur des majors. Le son gangsta de la West Coast devenait moins populaire, pendant qu'on recontextualisait et qu'on adoucissait le son très rude de la Côte Est. On était entré dans l'ère du rap variété. Ja Rule chantait de sa grosse voix avec des chanteuses R&B, et Missy Elliot conduisait une jeep sur une plage. Le rap était plus mou et inoffensif que jamais. C'était plutôt lassant, il avait perdu tout le mordant sociopolitique qui l'avait caractérisé à partir du milieu des années 80.

En parallèle, l'influence des scènes punk hardcore et indie rock s'était répandue à travers le monde, et on était entré dans l'ère excitante des labels indés. Les gens pressaient leurs propres cassettes ou CDs, et il y avait un réseau conséquent de distributeurs indépendants, qui parvenaient à placer des disques à petit budget chez tout un tas de disquaires à travers le monde. La fin des années 90, ça a aussi été un pic, en termes de vente de disques. Tout cela a contribué au boum du mouvement rap indé, à la fin des années 90, lequel était une sorte d'extension de ce que faisaient des groupes comme Freestyle Fellowship et Organized Konfusion au début de la décennie.

En 1996, des groupes comme Company Flow (à l'origine du collectif Def Jux) ont eu un gros impact, en embrassant l'attitude anti-corporate du punk rock, et une éthique pro-indépendance. Peu après, le message est passé dans tout le pays, et des collectifs sont allés plus loin encore, comme les Living Legends et les Shape Shifters en Californie, ou encore Rhymesayers Entertainment à Minneapolis. Ils se sont mis à sortir des cassettes lo-fi et des enregistrements sur quatre-pistes. A la fin des années 90, Anticon à Oakland, voire Peanuts & Corn au Canada, ont poussé toujours plus loin cet idéal.

Quelles limites mets-tu à ce mouvement, en termes de temps, de lieu, de style ?

Rappeler le contexte est important pour poursuivre l'analyse, et comprendre combien cette musique a influencé celle qui a suivi. Avec les yeux d'aujourd'hui, elle peut paraître un peu démodée, voire "normale", mais à l'époque de sa création, une bonne partie était perçue comme véritablement révolutionnaire.

Dans cette interview, je fais référence aux années centrales de ce mouvement, je parle de musique produite de 1991 à 2001. Je parle aussi d'un type de son, de style, de contenu, plutôt que du concept rigide "d'indé", au sens strict du terme, la possibilité d'être vraiment indépendant étant limitée au début des années 90.

Ce mouvement se définit généralement par des beats et des paroles qui sonnaient originales à l'époque de leur création.

Les rappeurs qu'on avait tendance à catégoriser dans ce type de musique étaient dans l'ensemble plus habiles techniquement parlant, ils avaient généralement plus de verbe et de poésie que les gens markétés massivement par les majors du disque. Les techniques de production pouvaient aller de sons très rétro (Jurassic 5), à d'autres d'une nature beaucoup plus progressive (par exemple Company Flow et Anticon). En termes de paroles, les rappeurs de ce mouvement s'inscrivaient généralement dans le prolongement du hip-hop "conscient" (par exemple KRS-One, Public Enemy).

Que reste-t-il de ce mouvement, selon toi ?

Ce qu'il reste de ce mouvement est aujourd'hui fragmenté en petites sectes, fondées sur des sons ou des styles spécifiques. Il n'y a plus cette éthique partagée qu'il y avait autrefois. La plupart des distributeurs et des magasins qui soutenaient les indés ont fermé leurs portes. Il y a moins de magazines, moins de sites Web ou de boutiques intéressés par ce type de musique, et du coup, sa visibilité et sa popularité en ont pris un coup. Et pourtant, la scène existe toujours, en dehors de l'attention des médias.

Aujourd'hui, c'est à Minneapolis qu'on trouve la culture rap indé dominante. L'énorme succès d'Atmosphere a catapulté le label Rhymesayers Entertainment dans une autre catégorie. Une troisième vague de collectifs, comme Doomtree, a développé de larges fanbases, et maintient en vie un rap indé classique, avec une rhétorique anticapitaliste et anti-autoritariste. Ces artistes ont toujours un grand respect pour les racines de leur musique, et ils ont permis à une scène rap très active de se développer.

Malheureusement, les autres factions de l'indie rap ont été portées par des artistes moins généreux avec leurs scènes locales, qui ont privilégié leurs propres carrières au détriment du mouvement. Def Jux a été arrêté par El-P, même si lui-même et d'autres anciens membres du label ont toujours du succès. Sole a abandonné Anticon, qu'à la base il avait créé, tout en continuant à faire et à sortir régulièrement de la musique. Sage Francis pilote toujours son label Strange Famous, et il continue à y sortir sa musique. Le Project Blowed (tout son ensemble, de 2Mex et Busdriver à Freestyle Fellowship) maintient en vie son open mic à Leimert Park, Los Angeles, mais il est plutôt moribond en tant que label ou collectif. En parallèle, Los Angeles a donné naissance à une "scène" beat très populaire, autour des soirées hebdomadaires du "Low End Theory", qui est très liée au hip-hop.

C'est quoi ton histoire personnelle avec le rap indé ?

Même si j'ai été un fan de rap dès mon enfance, à la fin des années 80 et au début de la décennie 90, ce n'est qu'au lycée que j'ai commencé à m'intéresser au rap indé, sous l'influence de quelques bons amis. J'avais rencontré Mike King (alias iCON The Mic King) pendant ma première année de lycée en 1995, et à la base, c'est de lui qu'est venu mon intérêt pour le hip-hop. Je m'intéressais au graffiti, au hip-hop classique et au reggae, mais Mike m'a parlé de collectifs comme le Boot Camp, il a approfondi ma connaissance du Wu-Tang, et il a été la première personne à me faire écouter Funcrusher Plus, sur cassette. On écoutait une émission hebdomadaire sur le hip-hop sur la radio étudiante WNHU à West Haven, dans le Connecticut, et on les appelait pour des demandes et des dédicaces.

Internet était alors en plein essor, et ça m'a fait découvrir tout un monde, celui des disquaires en ligne spécialisés dans le rap indé (Sandbox Automatic, ATAK, etc...) et des webzines, qui étaient alors super à jour sur tout ce qui sortait. Je passais aussi tous mes étés chez mon père à Berkeley, ce qui me permettait d'être au courant de tout ce qui se passait en Californie vers 1998 ou 99, avec des événements comme le Broke Ass Summer Jam, que les Living Legends ont organisé à l'été 2001, je crois. En 2001, mon groupe (Anonymous Inc.) et moi avions déjà traversé toute la Californie, et collaboré avec tout un tas d'artistes issus de la scène indé californienne, notamment tous les affiliés à La2TheBay comme Deeskee, Maleko et Tommy V, les Shape Shifters, Sole et Dose d'Anticon, 2mex et Xololanxinxo d'Of Mexican Descent, et Busdriver.

C'était une époque super exaltante pour tout le hip-hop indépendant, on avait vraiment l'impression qu'il se passait quelque chose d'important. Je n'étais encore qu'un ado, et j'apprenais de tous ces gens qui étaient en train de fédérer un public international, de manière très artisanale. Ca m'a inspiré, c'est resté en moi. Aujourd'hui, je cherche encore à en garder le goût, à préserver tout ce qui m'a stimulé avec cette musique.

Tu te considères un membre à part entière de ce mouvement ? Ou bien est-ce quelque chose où tu ne veux pas être catalogué ?

Oui, je considère que j'appartiens à la troisième vague de ce mouvement, et que je suis aujourd'hui l'un des derniers avocats et pratiquants de ce type de hip-hop progressif.

Quels albums rap indé mettrais-tu dans ton top 5 ou 10?

Il est difficile de répondre à cette question sans faire référence aux albums pionniers du hip-hop underground:

- Freestyle Fellowship - Inner City Griots
- Beneath the Surface
- Aceyalone - All Balls Don't Bounce
- Company Flow - Funcrusher Plus
- Organized Konfusion - Stress
- Deep Puddle Dynamics
- Mindclouders - Fake It Until You Make It
- The Shape Shifters - Planet of the Shapes
- Awol One & Daddy Kev - Souldoubt
- Of Mexican Descent - Exitos Y Mas Exitos EP
- Busdriver - Temporary Forever
- Clouddead - s/t

Et tes 5 ou 10 morceaux préférés ?

C'est vraiment dur de ne sélectionner que quelques titres, mais en voici toujours quelques uns, qui m'ont influencé :

- Freestyle Fellowship (Myka 9) - Seventh Seal
- Organized Konfusion - Bring It On
- Of Mexican Descent & Circus - Night & Day
- 3 Melancholy Gypsies - Sunsprayed
- Awol One - Sleeping All Day
- Aceyalone - The Greatest Show on Earth
- Company Flow - The Fire in which you Burn
- Sole - Bottle of Humans
- Shape Shifters - Sacred Geometry
- Busdriver - Imaginary Places

Et tes 5 ou 10 artistes indé préférés ?

- Freestyle Fellowship
- Company Flow / El-P
- Organized Konfusion
- Of Mexican Descent
- The Shape Shifters
- 3 Melancholy Gypsies
- Deep Puddle Dynamics
- Eyedea
- Busdriver
- Anti-pop Consortium

Au bout du compte, penses-tu que cette catégorie, rap indé, soit pertinente ?

Si l'on fait référence à une certaine époque, oui, elle est pertinente. Ce qui est capital, c'est qu'on ressent aujourd'hui l'influence de l'indé sur le rap grand public. Après 2005, à peu près, le rap mainstream s'est mis à adopter des styles de production et de paroles plus bizarres, et je pense que c'est dû à l'influence de l'indé. Aujourd'hui, en 2013 (NDLR: l'interview s'est déroulée pendant l'été 2013), Kendrick Lamar, Kanye West et Macklemore ont des disques de platine, et ils doivent beaucoup au style indé.

L'histoire du rap ne serait pas complète, si on oubliait cette face progressive. Ces sons qui ont repoussé les frontières à la fin des années 90 et au début de la décennie 2000 ont clairement laissé leur marque sur le hip-hop en général. Beaucoup de journalistes ignorent complètement le rap indé quand ils parlent de hip-hop, et ce faisant, ils oublient d'où proviennent quelques une des évolutions stylistiques majeures de ce type de musique.

Rap indé mis à part, quel est ton diagnostic sur l'état du hip-hop, de nos jours ? Qu'est-ce que tu y trouves d'intéressant ?

Comme le rock avant lui, le hip-hop s'est segmenté en de multiples sous-genres. La culture unifiée vantée autrefois par KRS-One, c'est du passé. Même si cette culture hip-hop vit encore dans les marges, avec notre petite communauté rap indé, elle n'est plus vraiment pertinente. Contrairement à il y a 20 ans, tu peux regrouper aujourd'hui 5 fans de hip-hop dans une pièce, et il y a peu de chances qu'ils aiment vraiment les mêmes choses. Un peu comme un rockeur punk, qui aurait peu de chances d'apprécier les Beatles, les fans les plus jeunes ont peu de respect ou d'allégeance pour les anciens.

Comme les punks, encore une fois, qui lançaient des groupes avant même de savoir jouer des instruments, ils se fichent aujourd'hui de la virtuosité et des skills. Tous ces jeunes qui ont grandi en écoutant des rappeurs très doués ces 10 derniers années, qu'ils soient issus du mainstream ou du réseau indépendant, que ce soient Eminem, Busta Rhymes, Aesop Rock ou Pharaohe Monch, vont préférer maintenant la simplicité extrême de Waka Flocka Flame et de Chief Keef, parce que ça requiert moins d'attention, parce que c'est basé davantage sur l'énergie que sur la technique. Malgré mes critiques personnelles sur la fétichisation de l'ignorant rap par les bourgeois blancs, les médias et la culture branchée, je reconnais que ce type de musique dégage une certaine forme de rébellion qui doit parler aux plus jeunes. Un peu comme certains morceaux de dance, qui vont faire bouger des foules pendant des heures sans qu'il n'y ait le moindre changement rythmique, ce rap plus simple peut hypnotiser tout un public avec ses beats et ses incessantes répétitions.

C'est ça, le monde hip-hop où nous vivons aujourd'hui, TOUT PEUT Y ARRIVER. La musique est enregistrée sur des téléphones, elle est sortie gratuitement, et il y a très peu de règles. C'est la principale différence entre autrefois et maintenant. Le hip-hop avec lequel j'ai grandi devait respecter une certaine étiquette. Ce n'était pas admis de répéter 100 fois la même chose dans un seul titre, ou de sampler un morceau entendu la veille à la radio. Il n'était pas cool de rapper à des concerts sans s'éloigner du texte d'origine, et il n'était franchement pas cool de re-sampler des beats hip-hop classiques et de se les approprier.

Aujourd'hui, personne ne remarque ni ne critique tout cela. La vérité, c'est que le rap indé lui-même a contribué à altérer les règles de base et à changer la signification même du mot "hip-hop". Les tendances que l'on déteste le plus dans le rap contemporain, sont apparues en fait par des canaux indé. C'est comme pour tous les arts, les livres de règles changent, les modes vont et viennent. Cet irrespect pour les règles du hip-hop, c'est ce que je trouve à la fois de plus excitant et de plus exécrable dans la musique rap de 2013.

Pour en revenir à toi, où en es-tu ces jours-ci ? Quels sont tes projets et activités du moment ?

Je suis à deux doigts de sortir un album, en vinyle uniquement, Forgotten Forever, sur le label français Cooler Than Cucumbers. A part ça, je m'apprête à finir un projet avec Factor, et une compilation de singles et d'inédits avec DJ Scientist. En plus de cela, je travaille sur une collection d'enregistrements acoustiques pour le label DIYBandits. En gros, je suis très occupé ces temps-ci.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet