Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

THAVIUS BECK - Thru

, 23:10 - Permalink

Contrary to what his experimentalist posture suggests, Thavius Beck's music has sometimes been too easy. The ex producer of Global Phlowtations, one of its few members who met some kind of critical recognition in the 2000's, thanks to his releases with Mush Records, Plug Research and Big Dada, sometimes spoiled his music with too many effects and pyrotechnics, and with some big, threatening electronic sounds, sounding like an exaggeratedly gothic version of hip-hop. Many times, though, the individual proved that he was really gifted and talented.

THAVIUS BECK - Thru

Mush :: 2006 :: buy this record

More than with Decomposition (2004), his first album for Mush, more than with Zwarte Achtergrond (2005), he delivered as part of the Lab Waste duo, and which provided us with some kind of hip-hop version of Trent Reznor's music (whom Thavius Beck occasionally collaborated with), the beatmaker delivered his best works with the very good International Beats (2005), a CD-R he recorded under his old moniker, Adlib, and then with his second official solo album, Thru (2006).

The excessive cold of Decomposition was still there. It dominated the album, starting with the introductive "Sonic Sound", its garish electronic sounds and its dark background voices, and then continuing with tracks obviously made to impress, such as "Reaching", the grandiloquent "The Storm Before The Calm" – not the worst track, though – or the foul "Perpetual Pursuit", which looked like a soundtrack for Scooby Doo. The other tracks, however, were more delicate, less clumsy, for example "Under Pressure", or "Down", the most sophisticated part of the album, a quasi-instrumental song where Mia Doi Todd's sweet and eerie voice was strangely distorted, and complemented with the sounds of breaking glasses.

When he didn't deliver pure instrumentals, or grap the mic himself, Thavius Beck was supported by other MCs on tracks which, overall, were all convincing, reminding people that he was first of all a rap producer, someone whose music is at its best when dressed with lyrics. "Dedicated To Difficulty", for example, was not only a great Adlib track, it was also one of 2Mex's best since a long time, despite its much too long hook. The verdict was the same for "98" and its piano, with Nocando sharing some thoughts about his father's death, and for "Lyrical Gunplay" with slam poet Saul Williams. Thanks to these tracks, and despite a few weaknesses, Thru may have been the best among Adlib's easiest to find records.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

THAVIUS BECK - Thru

, 11:24 - Lien permanent

Contrairement à ce que pourrait laisser croire sa posture d’expérimentateur hip-hop, il y a souvent eu de la facilité chez Thavius Beck. Le producteur historique de Global Phlowtations, l'un de ses rares membres à avoir émergé dans les années 2000, grâce à ses sorties chez Mush, Plug Research et Big Dada, a parfois gâté sa musique par trop d’effets, de pyrotechnie et de gros sons électroniques faits tout spécialement pour faire peur, dans un grand numéro de hip-hop gothique. Mais il y a eu également du grand talent chez le bonhomme.

THAVIUS BECK - Thru

Mush :: 2006 :: acheter ce disque

Davantage que sur Decomposition (2004), son premier album chez Mush, davantage aussi qu’avec le Zwarte Achtergrond (2005) de Lab Waste, son duo avec Subtitle, qui nous offraient une sorte de version hip-hop de la musique de Trent Reznor (avec lequel Thavius Beck a d'ailleurs collaboré), c’est sur un très bon International Beats (2005) sorti en CD-R et sous le nom d’Adlib, son pseudo historique, que le producteur a su montrer sur la longueur le meilleur de ce dont il était capable, puis ensuite sur son deuxième album solo officiel, Thru (2006).

La froideur excessive de Decomposition était toujours présente. Elle dominait dès l’introductif "Sonic Sound" avec son électronique criarde et ses paroles graves en arrière-plan, puis sur d’autres morceaux faits à peu de frais pour impressionner, comme "Reaching", le grandiloquent "The Storm Before The Calm", pourtant pas le pire de la série, ou cet infâme "Perpetual Pursuit" digne de figurer dans la B.O.. de Scoubidou. La plupart des autres titres, toutefois, s’avéraient plus délicats et moins lourdauds, comme "Under Pressure", et surtout "Down", le plus sophistiqué des titres de l’album, un quasi-instrumental où n’apparaissait que par touches, accompagnée du son dérangeant d'un bris de glace, la douce voix trafiquée et fantomatique de la chanteuse Mia Doi Todd.

Quand il ne se limitait pas à des instrumentaux, ou qu'il ne saisissait pas lui-même le micro, Thavius Beck était secondé par des MCs sur des titres qui, dans l'ensemble, étaient des réussites, rappelant qu’il était avant tout un producteur de rap, quelqu’un dont la musique ne prend toute son ampleur qu’une fois habillée de paroles. "Dedicated To Difficulty", par exemple, était non seulement un bon morceau d'Adlib, il était aussi le meilleur du gros 2Mex depuis longtemps, malgré un refrain qui s’éternisait au-delà du raisonnable. Même jugement favorable pour le piano approprié du "98" de Nocando, où le rappeur se livrait sur le décès prématuré de son père, et pour le "Lyrical Gunplay" du poète slam Saul Williams. Tous ces titres concouraient à faire de Thru, en dépit de quelques faiblesses, le plus recommandable des disques aisément trouvables d’Adlib.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2006

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2006. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet