Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

PIGEON JOHN - Sings the Blues

, 11:08 - Permalink

In 2004, along with a collection of poems, Pigeon John released the South Bay Blues EP. This had been the best and most personal record ever delivered by this LA Symphony ex-member, also a Good Life Café regular. It was 8 tracks long only, but each of them was no less than exceptional. They were worth "What is Love?!" and "Emily", the best songs on Pigeon John is Dating your Sister, the rapper's previous album. This EP, however, had not been advertised enough to find its public, and it was more easily available as illegal MP3s than as a regular record. Eventually, we had to wait for a new album, Pigeon John Sings the Blues - the last the mixed-race rapper released on Basement Records before he joined Quannum Projects - to finally get hold of these 8 marvels, but in a new version.

PIGEON JOHN - Sings the Blues

Basement Records :: 2005 :: buy this record

So, Pigeon John sang the blues. Such said the deliciously retro cover art of the record. He talked about some serious matters, also, like the multiple forms of love ("Nothing Without You"), the insignificance of human beings ("Matter 101"), and all the rest, but with a large dose of light-hearted humor, as on his previous albums. So was it on "She Cooks Me Oatmeal", when a bashful lover finally revealed trivial motivations: "You cook me oatmeal, you make me breakfast, and I miss you, 'cause I'm hungry". Or on "Upside Down Rotten", where, a penitent party-animal, he admitted not having cured all of his previous vices: "I used to drink Bacardi and go to strip clubs (pause), and I still want to go to strip clubs".

Successively, Pigeon John joked, or he confessed himself. While doing this, he didn't hesitate to go through unusual ways, alternatively rapping and singing, so seamlessly that one couldn't tell when he moved from one register to another. All titles were eminently playful or melodic, and he didn't hesitate to use an acoustic guitar or even the strings of a waltz on the classy "The Grand Oli Waltz". Pigeon John diverted rap, he made it his thing. And, as he mentioned on "Matter 101" ("I don't care if the hip hop heads turn away and say Pigeon John has turned gay"), he mocked the potential reactions and consequences to this.

Well, not so sure that Pigeon John really mocked them, since he didn't rereleased South Bay Blues as sober as it originally was. He remixed it, he enriched it with additional instrumentations and new tracks. These additions, however, were either superfluous, or unfortunate. "You Can't Have It", for example, was augmented with an unnecessary and irritating drum. And some tracks from the previous album ("Emily", "Identity Crisis", and a "Life Goes On" supported by Abstract Rude) were badly mistreated by unimaginative remixes.

The brand new tracks, though, were good. So was "Sleeping Giants" with Eligh and The Grouch, from the Living Legends, a song about the downfalls of the race to success. So were "Rainy Day" and "Draw Me Closer" as well, with their crepuscular atmosphere. It was just bad luck that such tracks didn't fit with the others. They were from another genre, another color, and they spoiled the original freshness of South Bay Blues. With such a strong basis, however, Pigeon John Sings the Blues could have been nothing else than a very good album.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

PIGEON JOHN - Sings the Blues

, 23:16 - Lien permanent

Le EP South Bay Blues accompagnait en 2004 un recueil de poèmes sorti par Pigeon John, et c'était l'œuvre la plus belle, la plus sobre et la plus personnelle de l'ancien membre du collectif LA Symphony, par ailleurs un habitué du Good Life Café. Il ne comportait que huit titres, mais huit titres exceptionnels, huit titres dignes de "What is Love?!" et de "Emily", les meilleurs moments de l'album précédent, Pigeon John is Dating your Sister. Faute de publicité, malheureusement, le disque s'était montré plus facilement disponible en MP3 pirate sur Internet qu'ailleurs. Il fallu donc attendre la sortie un an plus tard de Pigeon John Sings the Blues, le dernier album du rappeur métis chez Basement Records, avant une carrière chez Quannum Projects, pour voire réapparaître sous une autre forme ces huit merveilles.

PIGEON JOHN - Sings the Blues

Basement Records :: 2005 :: acheter ce disque

Pigeon John chante le blues, nous révélait donc la pochette délicieusement rétro de ce disque. Il se lançait aussi dans les grands thèmes, les diverses formes de l'amour ("Nothing Without You"), l'insignifiance de l'homme ("Matter 101") et tout ça, mais avec le ton badin et la dose d'humour déjà à l'œuvre sur ses albums d'avant. Ainsi sur "She Cooks Me Oatmeal", quand l'amoureux transi se montrait finalement mû par des motivations pour le moins terre-à-terre : "You cook me oatmeal, you make me breakfast, and I miss you, 'cause I'm hungry". Ainsi encore sur "Upside Down Rotten, quand il modérait ses propos de fêtard repenti : "I used to drink Bacardi and go to strip clubs (pause), and I still want to go to strip clubs".

Tour à tour, Jean le Pigeon se livrait ou il plaisantait. Et pour cela, il n'hésitait pas à arpenter les chemins de traverse du hip-hop. Il rappait et chantait alternativement, avec un naturel tel qu'il n'était plus besoin de noter quand il passait d'un registre à l'autre. Ses titres étaient tous éminemment enjoués ou mélodiques et il n'hésitait pas à recourir à la guitare acoustique, voire aux cordes d'une valse sur le classieux "The Grand Oli Waltz". Pigeon John contournait et détournait le rap, il en faisait son truc. Et comme il le précisait sur "Matter 101" ("I don't care if the hip hop heads turn away and say Pigeon John has turned gay"), il se fichait bien des réactions.

Enfin, il s'en fichait... Pas tout à fait, car South Bay Blues n'était pas ressorti dans sa sobriété originelle. Soucieux de proposer un disque plus produit, le rappeur avait enrichi les instrumentations et ajouté de nouveaux morceaux. Malheureusement ces ajouts ne s'avéraient pas tous nécessaires. "You Can't Have It", par exemple, se retrouvait affublé d'une percussion irritante et superflue. Et quelques titres issus de l'album précédent ("Emily", "Identity Crisis" et un "Life Goes On" renforcé par Abstract Rude) se voyaient maltraités par des remixes sans imagination.

Les purs inédits, en revanche, étaient plutôt bons. Ainsi ce "Sleeping Giants" avec Eligh et The Grouch, des Living Legends, où il était question de la difficile course vers le succès, ou ces "Rainy Day" et "Draw Me Closer" à l'ambiance crépusculaire, très trip hop. Le seul hic, c'était que ces nouveaux titres s'articulaient mal avec les précédents. Ils étaient d'un autre genre, d'une autre coloration, et gâtaient légèrement la fraîcheur originelle de South Bay Blues. Même si, avec une telle base Pigeon John Sings the Blues ne pouvait être autre chose qu'un très bon album.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2005

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2005. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet