Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

ORKO THE SYCOTIK ALIEN - Atoms of Eden

, 23:25 - Permalink

By the early 2000's, nobody cared any longer about drum'n'bass. After a few years, in the previous decade, when this genre - born from the UK rave scene and characterized by frenetic rhythms - was praised as the music of the future, it almost disappeared, leaving the way to its UK garage and dubstep offspring. Strangely enough, by these days, the only people still captivated by this music were indie rappers, like Zion I or, later, The Orphan, Noah23's main beatmaker, who confirmed his passion for 180 bpm music with the album Atoms of Eden.

ORKO THE SYCOTIK ALIEN - Atoms of Eden

Plague Language :: 2003 :: buy this record

Seen in the distance, it didn't sound too exciting. Crossover projects like this have rarely been successes. But something was different, there: the rapper to lay his words on The Orphan's beats would be Orko, the Sycotik Alien, San Diego's rap scene veteran, also a core member of the Global Phlowtations collective, a key character on the prolific Californian underground hip-hop scene, and the author of multiple – generally very lo-fi – albums, including a joint record with Company Flow's Bigg Jus, released a few months before this other collaboration.

With Atoms of Eden, the rapper, and some others like Odessa Kane, Zagu Brown, Ambush and Phoenix Orion, spat words with comfort and celerity, talking about some scientific, futuristic or political matters on a finely crafted jungle - the other name of drum'n'bass - sound. They did so all along the record, with the exception of a few more conventional tracks, like the remarkable and devastating "Wack as Fuck", a powerful charge against wack emcees, including some Black Moon-like hook, and a few anthological punchlines, a track probably designed to reinsure pure rap heads too disconcerted by the English and electronic sound of the beats.

Both protagonists were successful with this crossover experience. Orko demonstrated he was a rap virtuoso, his fast flow being at ease with the frantic music tempo. It sounded good, despite the melodramatic turn of some tracks, like "Symphony of Light" and "Double Helix" – both glimpses of what The Orphan would deliver later, under the Kingston moniker, as part of Blue Sky Black Death. The alchemy between raps and sounds was close to perfection, as with "Art of Deception" and "Innerspace Massive". This album, finally, provided Orko with the unbridled rhythm his quick and threatening flow may have always required.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

ORKO THE SYCOTIK ALIEN - Atoms of Eden

, 23:07 - Lien permanent

La drum'n'bass, au début des années 2000, ne captivait plus grand monde. Après quelques années de gloire au sein de la décennie précédente, ce genre au rythme trépidant né de la scène rave anglaise semblait avoir rejoint les poubelles de l'histoire, ne survivant plus qu'à travers ses descendants UK garage, puis dubstep. Etrangement, les derniers qui semblaient encore s'y intéresser étaient quelques rappeurs issus de la scène indé. Il y eut d'abord le groupe Zion I, et puis The Orphan, le producteur attitré du Canadien Noah23. Atoms of Eden concrétisait sur une longue durée la passion ancienne du beatmaker pour les sons à 180 bpm.

ORKO THE SYCOTIK ALIEN - Atoms of Eden

Plague Language :: 2003 :: acheter ce disque

Vu comme ça, ce projet pouvait ne pas être très engageant. Les expériences crossover de cette nature n'ont pas toujours donné de bonnes choses. Mais voilà, le MC choisi pour habiller ces instrumentations d'Orphan, c'était Orko, the Sycotik Alien, le vétéran de la scène rap de San Diego, membre du collectif Global Phlowtations, personnage essentiel du foisonnant underground hip-hop californien, auteur d'une pléiade d'albums relativement confidentiels qu'un disque commun avec Bigg Jus de Company Flow avait rendu plus visible, quelques mois auparavant.

Sur Atoms of Eden, notre rappeur et quelques autres comme Odessa Kane, Zagu Brown, Ambush et Phoenix Orion, déblatéraient avec aisance et à toute allure un flot continu de paroles scientifico-futuristico-politiques sur une jungle (l'autre nom de la drum'n'bass) finement ouvragée. Et cela tout le long du disque, à l'exception d'une toute petite poignée de titres plus typiquement rap comme le remarquable et dévastateur "Wack as Fuck", une charge contre les wack emcees pas piquée des hannetons produite par le MC lui-même, servie par un chœur ravageur à la Black Moon et par quelques punchlines d'anthologie, histoire de rassurer ceux qui se sentaient trop dépaysés par les sons électroniques venus l'Angleterre.

Pour le reste et contre toute attente, les deux principaux protagonistes se tiraient plutôt bien de l'exercice. Tandis qu'Orko prouvait sa virtuosité en collant son phrasé au rythme ultra-rapide des beats, les instrumentaux convainquaient, en dépit de ces effets parfois mélodramatiques ("Symphony of Light", "Double Helix") que The Orphan développera plus tard au sein du duo Blue Sky Black Death, sous le nom de Kingston. Quelques titres parvenaient même à une alchimie parfaite entre les raps et les sons, comme les très réussis "Innerspace Massive" et "Art of Deception", comme si cet album, peut-être le mieux produit d'Orko, lui apportait enfin avec ces rythmes débridés l'écrin qui convenait à son flow rapide et menaçant.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2003

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2003. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet