Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

NEILA - Only This One Counts

, 23:13 - Permalink

"Please support my album to help pay for hospital bills and rent!" This is the sentence Neila used, in 2011, to introduce her latest album, Only This One Counts. With this cry for help, the Hawaiian rapper, a close relative to Deeskee, Acid Reign, Omid, Joe Dub and other artists from the West Coast Underground rap scene, urged her few fans to help her facing the painful situation she was in. Unemployed and homeless, she was also affected by a vocal chord cancer, and she announced that this album, released in vinyl only, would be the last with her real voice.

NEILA - Only This One Counts

Self-released :: 2011 :: buy this record

Her voice, indeed, had already altered. It sounded 20 years older, as compared with her previous releases, some underground CDs made of quality adult rap, including intimate considerations and social comments, and sometimes produced by the people mentioned above. Now, her new rasping and broken timbre sounded almost painful. Moreover, she was sharing a dark mood and sad ideas on this album, like with the sepulchral "White Zombi" and its lugubrious "This is my epilogue, I'm walking death zombie white heavy footprints." By listening carefully to the lyrics, one could see that Neila's misfortunes were mostly of the sentimental kind, but they sounded no less real. And, confirming this depressing law, according to which great art is fed with pain and anxiety, she had never sounded so poignant.

The rapper already delivered moving songs in the past, for example "The Dream", available on her Vertical Trees album, as well as on Deeskee's Blacklight Sessions, both released in 2003. On Only This One Counts, however, all the tracks were at this level. Neila's grave and hoarse raps, moreover, were underlined by music in the same mood, full of heavy beats, haunted by dark and ethereal synthesizers ("Black Then"), ghostly harpsichords and choruses ("Brain Gap"), gloomy pianos and morbid organs (the splendid "Final Note"). Produced by a certain Rezult, it was also reinforced by the sinister scratches of two DJs, Skid and Handprints

Fortunately, the next step of her life would be less dramatic for Neila. A few months after her call for help, she recovered and her health improved. As soon as in 2012, she could take the mic again, and release a new album titled Marked for Breath. This one, though, was less memorable than the previous record.

Only This One Counts, then ? No, not necessarily. The rapper delivered some other remarkable albums in her career. But none has been as intense as this one.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

NEILA - Only This One Counts

, 23:28 - Lien permanent

"S'il vous plait, soutenez mon album, aidez moi à payer mes factures d'hôpital et mon loyer". Ainsi Neila, en 2011, présentait-elle son dernier disque, Only This One Counts. Avec ce cri de détresse, la rappeuse originaire d'Hawaï, une proche de Deeskee, Acid Reign, Omid, Joe Dub , bref, du West Coast Underground, exhortait ses fans à l'aider dans ces épreuves. Désormais sans emploi ni domicile, elle souffrait d'un cancer des cordes vocales, et annonçait que cet album, sorti uniquement en vinyle et illustré par ses soins, serait le dernier avec sa vraie voix.

NEILA - Only This One Counts

Autoproduit :: 2011 :: acheter ce disque

Cette voix, toutefois, était déjà très altérée. Elle avait pris 20 ans d'âge, comparée aux sorties précédentes, plusieurs CDs confidentiels, remplis d'un rap adulte de qualité, fait de considérations intimes et de commentaires sociaux, parfois produits par les gens cités plus haut. Le timbre éraillée, brisé, la rappeuse faisait peine à entendre sur ce nouvel album. Qui plus est, elle y cultivait des idées noires, entamant un sépulcral "White Zombie", par exemple, par un lugubre "ceci est mon épilogue, je marche vers la mort dans les pas lourds d'un zombi blanc" (traduction approximative). A bien écouter les paroles, les malheurs que Neila partageait étaient en fait principalement sentimentaux, mais la peine n'en était pas moins réelle. Et, confirmant la règle désespérante qui veut que l'art, divinité cruelle, se nourrisse d'angoisses et de douleur, elle n'avait jamais été aussi poignante.

La rappeuse avait déjà été capable de titres sensibles et émouvants, par exemple le délicat et jazzy "The Dream", présent sur Vertical Trees with Eternal Leaves, comme sur le Blacklight Sessions du producteur Deeskee, tous deux sortis en 2003. Seulement, sur Only This One Counts, tous ou presque étaient de ce niveau. Les raps graves et rauques de Neila étaient par ailleurs soulignés par une musique dans les mêmes tons, faite de beats pesants, de nappes atmosphériques et noires ("Back Then"), de piano dépouillé et d'orgue mortuaire (le beau "Final Note"), de clavecin et de chœurs fantomatiques ("Brain Gap") qu'elle empruntait au Requiem de Mozart, rien de moins... Produits par un certain Rezult, ces sons étaient renforcés par ailleurs par les scratches sinistres des DJs Skid et Handprints.

La suite, heureusement, fut moins dramatique pour Neila. Quelques mois après cet appel au secours, son cancer était en rémission. Et dès 2012, elle put reprendre le micro et sortir encore un album, Marked for Breath. Celui-ci, cependant, s'avérait moins mémorable que son prédécesseur. Only This One Counts, donc ? Seulement celui-là comptait ? Non, sans doute pas, la rappeuse avait sorti d'autres disques valables dans sa carrière ; mais ils avaient rarement été aussi intenses.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2011

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2011. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet