Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

JEAN GRAE - Attack of the Attacking Things

, 23:22 - Permalink

She was born outside the US (in South Africa, to be more precise); her parents had been jazzmen; she lived in New-York; she studied music at the university; she had been trained as a classical singer; she was well connected with international artists, like the Herbaliser, the British band she supported on the album Very Mercenary; and last but not least, she was a woman. Everything related to Jean Grae's background and identity encouraged her to choose the alternative, bohemian, intellectual and intimate side of hip-hop.

JEAN GRAE - Attack of the Attacking Things

Third Earth Music :: 2002 :: buy this record

From her first single with Natural Resource, "Negro League Baseball", in 1996, to this album released in 2002, the MC previously known as What? What? had sometimes been described as an underground version of Lauryn Hill, a less crossover one, or as Talib Kweli's feminine counterpart. And indeed, like the latter, Jean Grae was doing conscious rap, positioning herself as a feminist ("Get It"), denouncing the materialism of her peers ("Knock") or, this great rap cliché, paying tribute to her mother ("Live 4 U"). But she did it with finesse, without the preachy and heavy tone which penalized the other; with more originality.

With "God's Gift", for example, the rapper was acting as a macho male, throwing up a series of misogynistic lyrics in order to better demonstrate their absurdity. Just after, with "Block Party", she invited ghetto swashbucklers to get out of their 'hoods and explore the world. On the more intimate front, she spoke about love disappointment on "Love Song", in a spoken poetry way close to Ursula Rucker's, before switching from the third to the first person and confessing this story was hers; and on "Fade Out", she reported a complicated relationship as if writing a letter. This MC, however, was not prudish. She had already proved it when participating to The High & Mighty's pro-masturbation "Hands on Experience Pt. II"; and on this first album, she showed she could handle humor with "Thank Ya!"'s catchy ego-trip.

Sometimes, Jean Grae's blend of conscious rap could be as boring as we feared, because of her monotonous flow, and some weak beats. Despite the help of prestigious people on production, like Evil Dee, Masta Ace and Company Flow's Mr. Len, some loops were not really tasty ("Love Song", "Get It", "Knock"). A good half of the album, however, was made of memorable music, like with the organ of "What Would You Do", the mandolin of "No Doubt", the addictive "Thank Ya!", and the strings and scratches of "God's Gift", a track produced by the veteran Masta Ace ; a rapper who, more than Hill or Kweli, was finally the real matching part of Jean Grae. Both of them, from time to time, have been able to rise above others and play astutely with sarcasm to better mock the excesses of their gangsta colleagues.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

JEAN GRAE - Attack of the Attacking Things

, 23:06 - Lien permanent

Une naissance en dehors des Etats-Unis (en Afrique du Sud, en l'occurrence), des parents jazzmen, une domiciliation à New-York, un parcours d'étudiante en musique, une formation de chanteuse classique, des connexions internationales, par exemple avec les Anglais de Herbaliser, et enfin, son statut de femme : tout dans l'identité et le parcours de Jean Grae l'incitait à épouser la cause d'un rap alternatif plus bohème, plus intellectuel et plus intime que sa version dominante.

JEAN GRAE - Attack of the Attacking Things

Third Earth Music :: 2002 :: acheter ce disque

De son premier single au sein de Natural Resource, "Negro League Baseball", en 1996, à ce premier album sorti en 2002, celle dont le premier nom d'artiste fut What? What? a donc été comparée à une version underground de Lauryn Hill, en moins crossover, en plus purement rap, voire considérée comme l'équivalent féminin de Talib Kweli. Comme ce dernier, en effet, Jean Grae privilégiait le registre du rap "conscient", donnant dans le féminisme ("Get It"), dénonçant le matérialisme de ses pairs ("Knock") et, grand cliché rap, rendant hommage à sa maman ("Live 4 U"). Mais elle le faisait habilement, sans les sermons et la lourdeur qui ont souvent pénalisé l'autre ; avec plus d'originalité.

Sur "God's Gift" par exemple, la rappeuse, se mettant dans la peau d'un mâle macho, déversait un flot de paroles misogynes, pour mieux en montrer l'ineptie. Juste après, sur "Block Party", elle invitait les fiers-à-bras du ghetto à sortir de leurs quartiers et à découvrir le monde. Sur le front de la confession, elle avait la pudeur de raconter ses déboires amoureux à la troisième personne sur "Love Song", d'une manière spoken poetry assez proche d'une Ursula Rucker, avant d'admettre que cette histoire était la sienne ; et sur "Fade Out", elle relatait une relation tumultueuse sur le mode épistolaire. Enfin, cette rappeuse qu'on avait surpris un peu plus tôt sur "Hands On Experience Pt. II", le morceau pro-masturbation de The High & Mighty, était tout sauf une Sainte Nitouche, et elle savait parfois manier l'humour, comme avec l'entrainant égo-trip de "Thank Ya!".

Jean Grae n'évitait pas toujours le ton souvent barbant du rap à message. La faute, sinon à un flow par moments monotones, en revenait aussi à certains beats. Malgré la présence de noms prestigieux à la production, comme Evil Dee, Masta Ace et Mr. Len de Company Flow, quelques boucles étaient peu relevées ("Love Song", "Get It", "Knock"). Mais d'autres étaient plus mémorables, comme avec l'orgue de "What Would You Do", la mandoline de "No Doubt", l'addictif "Thank Ya!", et les cordes et scratches d'un "God's Gift" produit par le vétéran Masta Ace ; un rappeur qui, davantage que Hill ou Kweli, est finalement, peut-être, le véritable homologue de Jean Grae, l'un comme l'autre ayant su, de temps en temps, prendre de la hauteur et jouer astucieusement du sarcasme pour mieux moquer les outrances de leurs collègues gangsters.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2002

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2002. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet