Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

GUNPLAY - Bogota Rich: The Prequel

, 14:40 - Permalink

The endless bursts of a machine gun. The horrific screams of a panicking women. Crescendos built with the help of booming synthesizers. Martial choruses. All of these played very loudly. And also, most importantly, the raspy and enraged voice of Gunplay himself, rapping in a breathless way, as if today was his last day. Those who assumed that nothing could be more extreme than the brutal Inglorious Bastard, he released in 2011, were completely wrong. The song "Jump Out" is insane, it is just utter madness. It goes beyond anything heard before.

GUNPLAY & DJ HOLIDAY - Bogota Rich: The Prequel

Maybach Music Group :: 2012 :: download mixtape

And the most remarkable, is that other songs on Bogota Rich have exactly the same impact. Such is the case with "M1", a track named after a gun and which, indeed, is as powerful as a bullet in your belly. Likewise with the arrogant "Fuck Shit in My Life", and the conclusive "God Damn". And it is the same again with the thunderous "Low Life". There, with some support from his Triple C pals, Gunplay claims that he is lowlife, precisely; a rogue, a brute, a modern times heathen.

Such seems to be his main objective in life, his purpose, and his esthetic manifesto: erasing definitively finesse and subtlety. It is obvious with the visuals, and with these cover arts where, after having played with the Nazi imagery, Gunplay displays mountains of cocaine. This is also true with his music: it is showy, warlike, and spluttering, with its bells and synthesizers. Last but not least, he has a virile flow grasping people by their throats. It is so fascinating that only one thing matters with his songs: the time when he starts controlling the mic.

And though, this is just a minor release, a prequel of the album to come. "It's just an appetizer", says Gunplay in the intro. Really? If so, if this frantic project full of testosterone is a foretaste, what will the final product be like? We can't wait, we need to know what Medellin, to be released by Def Jam in 2013, will sound like.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

GUNPLAY - Bogota Rich: The Prequel

, 14:40 - Lien permanent

Des rafales de mitraillettes à n'en plus finir, les cris perçants de femmes en panique, un synthé clinquant qui avance en crescendo, des chœurs guerriers, le tout à s'en déchirer les tympans. Et surtout, la voix éraillée et enragée d'un Gunplay qui rappe d'un seul souffle, comme si c'était son dernier jour. Que ceux qui pensaient que le rappeur avait atteint le summum de la brutalité avec Inglorious Bastard, en 2011, mangent leur chapeau. "Jump Out" est un titre de fou furieux, il va plus loin encore que tout ce que vous avez pu entendre.

GUNPLAY & DJ HOLIDAY - Bogota Rich: The Prequel

Maybach Music Group :: 2012 :: télécharger la mixtape

Et le plus remarquable, c'est que d'autres titres sur Bogota Rich ne sont pas loin d'avoir la même force. C'est le cas de "M1", nommé d'après une carabine, et qui, de fait, fait le même effet qu'une décharge en pleine poitrine, ou encore de l'arrogant "Fuck Shit In My Life" et du conclusif "God Damn". C'est vrai aussi avec le tonitruant "Low Life" où, avec ses compères de Triple C, Gunplay se proclame lowlife, justement, où il met un point d'honneur à se présenter comme un gueux, comme une brute, comme un barbare des temps modernes.

Tel semble être d'ailleurs l'objectif ultime du rappeur, sa raison d'être, son parti-pris esthétique : gommer définitivement toute notion de finesse et de subtilité. C'est évident au niveau visuel, avec ces pochettes où, après avoir joué avec l'imagerie nazie, Gunplay exhibe des pelletées de cocaïne. C'est vrai aussi de la musique, clinquante, martiale, pétaradante, toute en cloches et synthés. C'est enfin le cas de ce flow viril qui vous arrache la gorge, si prenant qu'il surpasse tout et que, quand des invités s'expriment, on n'attend qu'une seule chose, avec impatience : le moment où Gunplay va reprendre le contrôle du micro.

Et le plus fort, dans tout cela, c'est que Bogota Rich n'est rien que la préquelle du futur album. "It's just an appetizer", Gunplay déclare-t-il en intro. Et si vraiment cette mixtape véloce et remplie de testostérone n'est que cela, un avant-goût, une mise-en-bouche, on n'ose pas imaginer à quoi ressemblera le produit fini, un Medellin très attendu, qui devrait sortir chez Def Jam en 2013.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2012

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2012. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet