Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

DIVINE STYLER - Spiral Walls Containing Autumns of Light

, 23:22 - Permalink

If Divine Styler has become a cult artist for fans of letfield hip-hop fans, this may be due less to his first album, the excellent Word Power, than to its follower, a quite experimental Spiral Walls Containing Autumns of Light. Released unexpectedly on a major label, at a time when those would sign any rapper, this record challenged radically hip-hop's usual frameworks.

DIVINE STYLER - Spiral Walls Containing Autumns of Light

Giant Records :: 1992 :: buy this record

With Word Power, Divine Styler had already shown his interest in melting styles, exploring successfully reggae or house music on some tracks. These, however, were not that original. In the Golden Age's heyday, other rappers were trying similar things. And at the same time as Spiral Walls... was released, the rapper's main sponsor, Ice-T, was also crossing some borders with his metal project, Body Count. With this second album, however, produced this time entirely by him, Divine Styler was going much further.

Hip-hop was only there in bits and pieces, lost in multiple tracks that flirted with ambient music ("Am I an Epigram for Life", "Love, Lies and Lifetimes' Cries"), hardcore metal ("Mystic Sheep Drink Electric Tea"), some hippy's psych folk ("Width in My Depth") and à la The Cure cold wave, blended with dribbling guitars (the rather beautiful "Walk of Exodus"), or with other indefinable things, like the electronica mixed with some flute on "Grey Matter", the album's single, or the tribal drums, the guitar and the synthesizer of "Euphoric Rangers". Even raps were sharing space with other things like desperate shouts, whispers, howls, songs or, more often, spoken poetry. And the few "real" hip-hop tracks, the funky "Livery" for example, were enjoying the luxury, still rare at this time, of some full live instrumentation.

The significance of this UFO of a record was large, especially when considering that the guy here was not some White man playing with toys he had stolen from others, as usual when it comes to experimentation and crossover. As a bad boy from the ghetto who had found redemption in prison by converting himself to Islam, Divine Styler had a pure rapper story to share. Talking about religiousness, his record was full of this, with prayers to Allah ("Livery", "The Next", "Walk of Exodus", "Aura") and metaphysical reflections, or some tracks where he desperately knocked at heaven's door, imploring that someone lets him in ("Love, Lies and Lifetimes' Cries", "Heaven Don't Want Me, and Hell's Afraid I'll Take Over").

Even today, while some are thinking that Spiral Walls... was the work of a genius, some others are dubious. Its inner quality is still being debated. The essential, though, is not there. The essential is in these visionary moments, like the organ-sustained ramblings of "The Next", somehow heralding Mike Ladd's hallucinated spoken word, or this "Mystic Sheep Drink Electric Tea" that could have been recorded 20 years later by Death Grips. The essential was about transgression and opening doors, it was this license to do everything with hip-hop, absolutely everything, Divine Styler was delivering with this album.

Rate this entry

4/5

  • Note: 4
  • Votes: 3
  • Higher: 5
  • Lower: 2

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

DIVINE STYLER - Spiral Walls Containing Autumns of Light

, 22:45 - Lien permanent

Si Divine Styler est devenu une figure culte chez les amateurs de rap affranchi, ce n'est pas tant pour son premier album, l'excellent Word Power, que pour le second, le très expérimental Spiral Walls.... Sorti de façon miraculeuse sur une major, à une époque bénie où ces dernières signaient à peu près tous les rappeurs qui passaient, ce disque radical explosait en effet tous les cadres du hip-hop.

DIVINE STYLER - Spiral Walls Containing Autumns of Light

Giant Records :: 1992 :: acheter cet album

Sur Word Power, déjà, Divine Styler avait concrétisé quelques envies de métissage, en s'adonnant sur quelques titres, et de manière convaincante, au reggae ou à la hip-house. Mais tout cela n'était pas encore très original, d'autres rappeurs s'essayaient aux mêmes exercices, dans les années de gloire du Golden Age. Et à l'époque même de Spiral Walls Containing Autumns of Light, le parrain du rappeur, Ice-T, franchissait lui aussi quelques frontières, quand il se plongeait dans le metal avec Body Count. Cependant, avec ce deuxième album, produit cette fois par ses seuls soins, Divine Styler allait infiniment plus loin que tout cela.

Le hip-hop n'y était plus présent que par traces, par bribes. Il était perdu au milieu de titres qui lorgnaient vers l'ambient ("Am I an Epigram for Life", "Love, Lies and Lifetimes' Cries"), le hardcore ("Mystic Sheep Drink Electric Tea"), un psych folk de hippy ("Width in My Depth"), de la cold wave à la The Cure mâtinée de guitare baveuse (l'assez beau "Walk of Exodus"), ou vers d'autres choses assez indéfinissables, comme l'électronique dansante et parsemée de pipeau du single "Grey Matter", ou les percussions tribales, la guitare et les nappes de "Euphoric Rangers". Les raps eux-mêmes laissaient parfois place à des cris désespérés, à des susurrements, à des hurlements, à des chants ou, souvent, à de la spoken poetry. Quant aux titres qui se rapprochaient le plus du hip-hop, par exemple le funky "Livery", ils s'offraient le luxe, encore rare à l'époque, d'une instrumentation live.

La portée de ce disque OVNI était d'autant plus grande que Divine Styler n'était pas un petit Blanc qui tripotait le rap, ce jouet qu'il avait piqué aux Noirs, comme souvent quand il est question d'expérimentation et de crossover. Avec lui, c'était une pure histoire de rappeur, celle, classique, d'un mauvais garçon du ghetto qui avait trouvé la rédemption en prison en se convertissant à l'Islam. Cette religiosité, d'ailleurs, le disque en était imprégnée, avec ses prières à Allah ("Livery", "The Next", "Walk of Exodus", "Aura"), ces passages où le rappeur s'engageait dans des considérations métaphysiques, et ces autres où il frappait désespérément à la porte du paradis, implorant qu'on le laisse entrer ("Love, Lies and Lifetimes' Cries", "Heaven Don't Want Me, and Hell's Afraid I'll Take Over").

Aujourd'hui encore, quand certains crient au génie, Spiral Walls... en laisse d'autres dubitatifs. La qualité de ce disque prête à débat. Ce n'est cependant pas là l'essentiel. L'essentiel, ce sont ses moments visionnaires, comme les divagations sur fond d'orgue de "The Next" qui annoncent le spoken word halluciné de Mike Ladd, comme encore ce "Mystic Sheep Drink Electric Tea" qu'on jurerait enregistré 20 ans plus tard par Death Grips. L'essentiel, c'est la transgression, c'est l'ouverture de toutes les portes, c'est le permis de tout faire avec le hip-hop, absolument tout, dont Divine Styler donnait le signal avec cette étrange sortie.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 1992

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 1992. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet