QWEL & MAKER - The Harvest

Prior to this album, Qwel was mostly known as a member of the Typical Cats, one of the main acts of Galapagos4, an indie rap label from Chicago. His two albums, If It Ain't Been In a Pawn Shop... and The Rubber Duckie Experiment, also received some praise in the underground. As for Maker, he had authored Honestly, a semi-instrumental record, and produced Seconds Away, another great album recorded jointly with DJ DQ and Adeem, under the name of Glue.

QWEL & MAKER - The Harvest

Having them collaborating on a full-length project was anything but a surprise. Qwel and Maker, indeed, were coming from the same circles. Actually, they had already recorded a song together, available on Honestly. And Maker had produced some tracks – the best, most of the time – on Galapagos4's most recent releases. However, The Harvest – the first of a series of projects inspired by the four seasons, Antonio Vivaldi-style – was some kind of revolution. Finally, Qwel had found the beatmaker he had missed so far, the one who would fit his style the best. As a result, he would be outstanding all along this new album, declaiming without a pause his relentless kind of rap, previously perfected through freestyles and MC battles.

Whatever he was doing - commenting about the current state of hip-hop ("The IT In Keeping It Real"); disparaging his country ("The Siren of Liberty Island") or the mass media ("The Network"); being critical and sarcastic, tearful ("Ugly Hungry Puppy", "Ruby Ragdollenne"), expressive, sensitive though not "emo", or in love ("Where I Go, There I Go"); moving from spoken word to double time - Qwel was almost flawless. He knew how to play with samples and loops. He knew when to let them go, or when to interrupt or mistreat them. He employed various tones, and Maker's beats used plenty of instruments, but none of this was garish.

The Harvest is one of the gems, indie hip-hop sometimes delivered in the 2000's. It is a lost classic, released by two unsung heroes, talented enough to be respected in the indie world, but not demagogic enough to reach a larger audience. Their formula, actually, was not exactly new, it was deeply rooted in the 90's; but it was close to perfection. Together, Qwel and Maker had released a rare album in rap music: a highly delectable one, from the first to the final track.

Buy this record

Rate this entry

5/5

  • Note: 5
  • Votes: 1
  • Higher: 5
  • Lower: 5

You may also like

  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries
  • LIL DEBBIE - Debbie, avr. 2020 LIL DEBBIE - Debbie
  • KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos
  • NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable
  • LEIKELI47 - Acrylic LEIKELI47 - Acrylic
  • ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo
  • CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

QWEL & MAKER - The Harvest

, 23:07 - Lien permanent

Qwel, avant cet album, c'était un tiers des Typical Cats, le trio de rappeurs qui avait fait connaître Galapagos4, label central du rap indé de Chicago, autour de l'an 2000. C'était aussi deux albums bien cotés dans l'underground, If It Ain't Been In A Pawn Shop... et The Rubber Duckie Experiment. Quant à Maker, c'était Honestly, un excellent album de hip-hop semi-instrumental, et Seconds Away, autre bon disque concocté avec DJ DQ et le rappeur Adeem, sous le nom de Glue.

QWEL & MAKER - The Harvest

Galapagos4 :: 2004 :: acheter ce disque

Voir les deux artistes collaborer sur la longueur d'un album n'avait rien de surprenant. Qwel et Maker évoluaient depuis toujours dans les mêmes eaux, à Chicago. Ils avaient déjà proposé un titre commun sur Honestly. Et Maker avait produit certains titres, les meilleurs, des derniers disques Galapagos4. The Harvest, pourtant, premier d'une série d'albums que Qwel allait consacrer aux quatre saisons, façon Vivaldi, était une petite révolution. Ici, le rappeur trouvait enfin le producteur constamment bon qui lui avait toujours fait défaut. Et lui aussi, tenait la route, tout au long de ce nouvel album. Il déclamait comme jamais, sans temps mort son rap haletant éprouvé à l'école des freestyles et des battles.

S'en prenant à l'état du hip-hop ("The IT In Keeping It Real"), à son propre pays ("The Siren of Liberty Island") ou aux médias ("The Network"), successivement critique et sarcastique, éploré ("Ugly Hungry Puppy", "Ruby Ragdollenne") ou amoureux transi ("Where I Go, There I Go"), passant d'un rappé parlé à un double time enflammé, rappant toutes tripes dehors, sans sombrer dans les facilités du rap emo. Maker, pendant ce temps, se montrait aussi irréprochable. Il redonnait foi en la bonne vieille boucle, sachant à merveille la laisser tourner, l'interrompre, l'agrémenter ou la maltraiter quand il le fallait, multipliant les timbres et les instruments, sans pour autant jamais produire quoi que ce soit de criard.

The Harvest, au final, est l'une de ces merveilles dont l'underground rap était parfois capable dans les années 2000, un disque sorti sans tambour ni trompette par deux artistes méconnus, bourrés de talent et appréciés du circuit indé, mais pas assez sexy ou démagos pour décrocher la timbale. Leur recette n'était pas neuve, mais elle était touchait à la perfection. A deux, Qwel et Maker avaient sorti ce genre de disques que seules autorisent certaines conjonctions astrales : un album de rap bon quasiment d’un bout à l’autre, de la première à l'ultime plage.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 2004

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 2004. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet