DR. OCTAGON - Dr. Octagonecologyst

Kool Keith was twice a crucial character, in the history of hip-hop. In the 80's, he was the main rapper of the influential Ultramagnetic MC's. And later on, in the mid-90's, he was Dr. Octagon. As such, he reinvented rap once again. Playing the role of an extraterrestrial killer gynecologist, he pushed it out of its comfort zone, with the help of a new generation of talents from both New York and the Bay Area: the beatmakers The Automator and Kut Masta Kurt; the DJ Q-Bert; Sir Menelik, a rhyme partner; and even DJ Shadow, who contributed to the project with a remix.

DR. OCTAGON - Dr. Octagonecologyst

None of them really rejected the well established formula of hip-hop. They just delivered some kind of upgraded version. Everything on the Dr. Octagon album, indeed, looked like a glance at the future: rooted in science-fiction, horror movies and his addiction for sex, Kool Keith's weird lyrics reminded all that he had sojourned once in a psychiatric hospital. The Automator disclosed some unusual, bizarre, but very catchy beats. And Q-Bert's scratches were just from outer space. As claimed by the rapper himself, this was definitely some rap for the year 3000.

On "Earth People", a threatening synthesizer emphasized Kool Keith's sci-fi-rants. On the mind-blowing "Blue Flowers", The Automator created a ghoulish ambiance, with the help of violins, minimalistic basses, some unsettling sounds and, by the end, warped scratches. With "Bear Witness", a track almost exclusively made of scratches and with an old school flavor, Q-Bert showed his virtuosity. On "I'm Destructive", with some harsh and dirty guitar, Dr. Octagon rejuvenated rap / rock crossovers, as they existed in the late 80's. And with "Wild and Crazy", his coarse music and his surrealistic stance, Kool Keith went totally, well… wild and crazy.

This record was deeply rooted into the old school era; much more, actually, than any other rap album released by the same years. And though, it sounded utterly new, strange, alien, and highly psychedelic. It was so different from the popular hip-hop of these times that, quite predictably, Dr. Octagon wouldn't be a big success. Released in Europe by Mo'Wax, and sounding trip hop at times - a label Kool Keith violently rejected - it would impact people beyond the rap circle, and make him the godfather of a new wave of rappers, keen on pseudo-scientific lyrics and sonic experimentations, and challenging hard the routines of their music.

Buy this record

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

You may also like

  • GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch GANGSTA BOO & LA CHAT - Witch
  • AZJAH - Princess Diaries AZJAH - Princess Diaries
  • LIL DEBBIE - Debbie, avr. 2020 LIL DEBBIE - Debbie
  • KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos KATE TEMPEST - Let Them Eat Chaos
  • NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable NADIA ROSE - Highly Flammable
  • LEIKELI47 - Acrylic LEIKELI47 - Acrylic
  • ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo ASIAN DOLL - Drippin' in Glo
  • CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy CARDI B - Invasion of Privacy

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

DR. OCTAGON - Dr. Octagonecologyst

, 12:16 - Lien permanent

Non content d'avoir été la tête de proue des influents Ultramagnetic MC's pendant la décennie précédente, Kool Keith remettait ça en 1996. A nouveau, il bousculait et il réinventait le rap, en s'imaginant cette fois sous les traits d'un gynécologue extra-terrestre tueur, le temps de l'aventure Dr. Octagon. Et pour l'accompagner, notre homme s'était entouré d'une dream team de talents prometteurs, issus de New York comme de la Baie de San Francisco, qui feraient tous parler d'eux dans les années suivantes : The Automator et Kut Masta Kurt à la production, Q-Bert aux platines, Sir Menelik aux raps, ainsi que DJ Shadow, pour un remix.

DR. OCTAGON - Dr. Octagonecologyst

Bulk Recordings :: 1996 :: acheter ce disque

Sans renoncer à aucune des formules du rap, tous ces gens en livraient une version rénovée. Les paroles déjantées de Kool Keith, ancien malade psychiatrique obsédé par le sexe, l'horreur et la science-fiction, la bizarrerie des beats néanmoins accrocheurs de The Automator, les scratches dévastateurs de Q-Bert, la participation de "vrais" musiciens, tout concourait à faire de cet album la vision la plus crédible du hip-hop du futur. Celui de l'an 3000, à en croire le rappeur.

Sur "Earth People", Kool Keith s'engageait dans des élucubrations science-fiction, servi par un synthétiseur menaçant. Sur le somptueux "Blue Flowers", à coup de violon, de basses minimales et de sons inquiétants, The Automator distillait une ambiance langoureuse et malsaine, qui se mêlait en fin de parcours aux scratches tordus de Q-Bert. Sur "Bear Witness" un titre presque entièrement instrumental, tout en scratches et en saveur délicieusement old-school, Q-Bert faisait une démonstration saisissante de turntablism. Sur "I'm Destructive", l'équipe de Dr Octagon recourait aux grosses guitares, sans renoncer aux boucles et aux scratches, réinventant l'exercice crossover rock / rap tel qu'il avait existé dans les années 80. Sur "Wild and Crazy", Kool Keith s'engageait dans un pur délire de rap surréaliste, sur un beat extrêmement rêche qui nous saisissait à la gorge.

Cet album plongeait ses racines dans la décennie précédente, celle de la old school. Pourtant tout ici sonnait neuf, inventif, étrange, psychédélique. C’était si différent du rap qui dominait alors les médias, que Dr. Octagon ne percerait bien sûr jamais auprès du grand public. Distribué en Europe par Mo'Wax, flirtant parfois allègrement avec les sons du trip hop, il allait toucher cependant des gens habituellement peu concernés par le rap. Et faire de Kool Keith le parrain de toute une nouvelle génération de rappeurs portés sur l'expérimentation et les thèmes pseudo-scientifiques, soucieux de bousculer leur genre de prédilection.

Vos 5 albums / mixtapes 1996

Désignez vos 5 albums ou mixtapes rap préférés de l'année 1996. Les résultats seront révélés plus tard, quand un quorum satisfaisant de votes sera atteint.

Album / Mixtape #01

Album / Mixtape #02

Album / Mixtape #03

Album / Mixtape #04

Album / Mixtape #05

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet