Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

EXISTEREO - Crush Groove

, 22:28 - Permalink

Released one year after the great Dirty Deeds and Dead Flowers (2003), Existereo's new album is made of the same wood. Like it, Crush Groove is full of guests, styles, and very eclectic beats. It looks like some crowded compilation; especially since it includes tracks already released on previous records

EXISTEREO - Crush Groove

Dead Guy Records :: 2004 :: buy this record

Beyond the great "Rhyme Time", which is remixed in a more relax and less bombastic way than the original version, the jazzy "Eyeball" is recycled here, which already featured on Deeskee's Blacklight Sessions, as well as "All About the Rhyme", which was on The (English) League's last album. On this record, also, Existereo shows his greatest strength: his ability to propose some lightened and simplified version of the Shape Shifters' formula, a more accessible one.

As always with this collection of incredibly creative Californian rappers, we are proposed a festival of raps and sounds. Existereo plays the crooner on "Above the Sea", he lists his imaginary fans on some very bouncy beat with "Who you Rockin' For", he raps at very high speed on the "Cautious Thunder" crescendo, he is using some electronic sounds typical of the beatmaker Subtitle on "Work Related"...

This is some pure Shape Shifters delirium, but with a strong capacity for building real songs and true bangers, and without the never-ending litanies typical of the group, and more particularly Circus. This high accessibility may not be enough to classify Crush Groove as a Shape Shifters masterpiece. But for sure, for neophyte, it is one of the best and easiest entry points to the music of this strange crew.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

EXISTEREO - Crush Groove

, 22:28 - Lien permanent

Successeur d'un Dirty Deeds and Dead Flowers assez chouette sorti en 2003, le dernier album d'Existereo, son deuxième solo, a été conçu dans le même moule. Comme lui, Crush Groove regorge de featurings, de styles, de sons éclectiques. Il se donne des airs de compilation foisonnante, airs d'autant plus marqués que plusieurs titres déjà connus trouvent ou retrouvent leur place ici.

EXISTEREO - Crush Groove

Dead Guy Records :: 2004 :: acheter ce disque

Outre un "Rhyme Time" remixé plus relax et moins tonitruant que l'original, le jazzy "Eyeball" issu du Blacklight Sessions de Deeskee est recyclé ainsi qu'un "All About the Rhyme" sorti tout droit du dernier album de The League. Sur cet album surtout, comme sur le précédent, Existereo joue de son grand atout : il sait nous proposer du Shape Shifters light, du Shape Shifters vulgarisé.

Comme toujours avec les sémillants rappeurs californiens, c'est un festival de raps et de sons : exercice de crooner langoureux sur "Above the Sea", liste à la Prévert de ses fans imaginaires et petit beat sautillant sur "Who you Rockin' For", phrasé à cent à l'heure sur musique en crescendo avec "Cautious Thunder", touches électroniques typiques de Subtitle sur "Work Related"...

C'est du pur délire façon Shape Shifters, mais avec un sens prononcé de la chanson, du tube, sans les litanies indigestes qui sont la marque de fabrique d'un Circus, voire du groupe quand il est au grand complet. Cela ne suffit pas à catégoriser Crush Groove parmi les chefs d'oeuvre de la clique, mais à coup sûr, cela en fait l'un des plus faciles, et un point d'entrée parfait pour les néophytes.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet