Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

GREEK - 9 Steps to Scott Baio Fame

, 23:02 - Permalink

This man is the new Michael Jackson. He is the American Dream. Well, this is at least what Jimmy Greek is pretending. Full of self-confidence, he is saying so on the bombastic "Tea Party for Michael", and then on "Dusty Rhodes", two tracks of a new record where he is aiming at the same notoriety as Scott Baio's. Scott who? Scott Baio, the Happy Days actor, the very guy displayed on the cover art.

GREEK - 9 Steps to Scott Baio Fame

Akhenation Music :: 2003 :: buy this record

This MC from Philadelphia, in fact just a mailman, and a key member of the Jam Faction collective, hasn't reached this ambitious stage yet. But he has the potential for it. The 9 tracks of 9 Steps to Scott Baio Fame prove it, concentrating in a short length all the talent Greek already showed on The Preferred Remedy, an album he released in 2002, and which deserved the attention already, with its strong punchlines and the rapper's funny sense of self-deprecation

Just imagine some exuberant and hysterical MC, or a mix of LoDeck, Thirstin Howl III and something else, indescribable. Then multiply this by 10 or 20, and you get something close from Jimmy Greek. An incorrigible loudmouth, he moves from paroxysmal ego-trips to some exalted battle style. An angry and revengeful loser, he settles an account with some unrequited love through hilarious punchlines, or a simulated telephone conversation ("Come to Me").

The beats, as with the previous album, are managed by Rummage. They are heavily influenced by Company Flow – just listen to "Bluggeoning Syrup" – and they fit the rapper's assaults and energy quite well. Each track is restricted to the minimum: a loop, just one, often maltreated and built on the most radical materials - here a heavy metal guitar ("Tea Party for Michael"), there a crazy synthesizer ("Blitzkrieg"), and somewhere else some beat Gangstarr fans will be familiar with ("Casualties"). This is enough, and it goes perfectly well with the stabbing lyrics Greek is sharing, on this short and playful album.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

GREEK - 9 Steps to Scott Baio Fame

, 22:12 - Lien permanent

Cet homme est le nouveau Michael Jackson. Il est le rêve américain personnifié. C'est en tous cas ce que Jimmy Greek, sûr de lui, s'époumonne à prétendre sur le tonitruant "Tea Party for Michael", puis sur "Dusty Rhodes", deux extraits d'un nouveau disque censé le mener vers une notoriété digne de Scott Baio (l'acteur sorti de Happy Days, celui-même qui figure sur la pochette).

GREEK - 9 Steps to Scott Baio Fame

Akhenation Music :: 2003 :: acheter ce disque

Le rappeur de Philadelphie, simple facteur dans le civil, membre central d'un collectif nommé la Jam Faction, n'est pas encore parvenu à ce niveau ô combien ambitieux, mais il en a la ressource. Les 9 plages de 9 Steps to Scott Baio Fame le prouvent, qui concentrent sur une courte durée tout le talent déjà révélé par Greek sur The Preferred Remedy, un premier album sorti discrètement en 2002 mais qui valait déjà le détour par son sens de la formule et de l'auto-dérision.

Imaginez un MC exubérant et hystérique, une sorte de fusion entre LoDeck, Thirstin Howl III et autre chose d'indéfinissable, le tout multiplié par 10 ou 20, et vous tenez un portrait approchant. Incorrigible grande gueule, Greek donne tour à tour dans un ego-trip paroxystique puis dans un style battle exalté. Loser vengeur et remonté, il solde un amour déçu à coups de punchlines hilarantes à l'occasion d'un simulacre de conversation téléphonique ("Come to Me").

La production, assurée par Rummage comme sur l'album précédent, et marquée par l'influence évidente de Company Flow (écoutez donc "Bluggeoning Syrup"), accompagne au mieux les assauts et l'exubérance du rappeur : elle se résume au strict minimum. Une boucle seulement, surtout si elle est malmenée et si elle recourt aux attirails les plus radicaux, ici une guitare hard rock ("Tea Party for Michael"), là un synthétiseur déglingué ("Blitzkrieg"), ailleurs un beat familier des fans de Gangstarr ("Casualties"). Un rien suffit à conduire les traits projetés à toute allure par Greek sur cet album court et récréatif comme il faut.

PS : merci à Governor Fabrice pour m’avoir orienté vers cet album.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet