Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

DJ SHADOW - The Private Press

, 22:13 - Permalink

Six years, no less, have spent between Endtroducing… and The Private Press. And they were more than sufficient to move from one era to the next. Now that the trip hop fad is over, and that DJ Shadow's rap roots are fully recognized - thanks to the multiples releases and rereleases of his Quannum collective, and to the arrival of a new generation of indie rappers influenced by him, at least indirectly - it was time to confirm the excellence of Endtroducing… with a brand new album.

DJ SHADOW - The Private Press

Universal :: 2002 :: buy this record

There were good reasons to be anxious, though. The best Quannum releases, actually, had not necessarily been the most recent, but maybe more old tracks like on the Solesides Greatest Bumps compilation. Like with the slightly disappointing Spectrum, DJ Shadow could have multiplied crossover tracks or useless guests – people like Jurassic 5 or the Souls of Mischief, whose best days are passed. Like Blackalicious with Blazing Arrow, he could have made some boring adult rap. Or he could have overplayed his role, like with the UNKLE project. The Private Press has just been released, and it could have been any of these options; but it is none.

Actually, it is quite the opposite: an absolute success. Though it seems more austere and less munificent than Endtroducing… was, it is strong and homogenous. This time, no banger like "Organ Donor" or the melancholic "Midnight in a Perfect World". Only "Six Days" and "Blood on the Motorway" - a song looking like Van Morrison's - can be considered as catchy, maybe because they have sung lyrics.

As predated with "You can’t Go Home Again", however, most of the album is made of instrumental tracks, and brilliant ones. Many are psychedelic, and most are less sensuous than in the past. They even look quite similar to Britain's Req, like with "Monosyllabik". DJ Shadow's haters, those convinced that he is somehow the hip-hop counterpart of the prog rockers of the past, may still point out a sample manipulation style too much founded on virtuosity, or too sophisticated beats. But all should admit that DJ Shadow's works are now less emphatic than previously.

Six years of silence, at least as a solo artist, could have meant two things: a critical lack of imagination, or an overly perfectionist approach. By chance, the second hypothesis seems to be the right one. DJ Shadow convinces with this accomplished album, which entirely deserves the same status as Endtroducing….

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

DJ SHADOW - The Private Press

, 10:13 - Lien permanent

Six années, rien que ça, ont séparé The Private Press d’Endtroducing. Un temps largement suffisant pour changer d'époque. L’écran de fumée trip hop dissipé, la filiation rap de DJ Shadow pleinement reconnue après force sorties et rééditions de ses compères de Quannum / Solesides, l’avènement d’une nouvelle génération de rappeurs indépendants chez qui son influence apparaît en filigrane et la résistance au temps d’Endtroducing ont largement préparé le terrain de ce deuxième album.

DJ SHADOW - The Private Press

Universal :: 2002 :: acheter ce disque

Toutefois, les motifs d’inquiétude ne manquaient pas. A bien y regarder, les sorties les plus captivantes du crew Quannum ne sont pas forcément les plus récentes, mais plutôt celles rééditées sur l'impeccable Solesides Greatest Bumps. A l’instar du décevant Spectrum, DJ Shadow pouvait multiplier les featurings et les crossover inutiles, donner dans la grand messe et inviter, une fois encore, des Souls of Mischief fatigués ou des Jurassic 5 inoffensifs. Comme Blackalicious sur Blazing Arrow, il pouvait tomber dans le piège du rap adulte. Il pouvait enfin jouer à la baudruche, comme avec James Lavelle sur le disque d’UNKLE.

Mais voilà, The Private Press vient de sortir, et ce nouvel album, réussite intégrale, n’a rien de Psyence Fiction. Il en est l’exact contraire. Homogène, constant, il apparaît aussi plus austère et moins gargantuesque qu’Endtroducing. Pas d’appât comme "Organ Donor" ou le mélancolique "Midnight in a Perfect World" cette fois. Seuls "Six Days" et "Blood on the Motorway" (et ses faux airs de Van Morrison) peuvent être qualifiés d'immédiats, sans doute parce qu’ils sont chantés.

Dans la lignée de l'annonciateur "You can’t Go Home Again", le reste de l’album est fait d'instrumentaux brillants. Des titres souvent psychédéliques, mais aussi plus cérébraux et moins sensuels que par le passé, jusqu'à rappeller Req dans certains moments (cf. "Monosyllabik"). Les détracteurs de Shadow, ceux qui croient reconnaître en lui l’équivalent rap des rockeurs progressifs, auront certes toujours beau jeu de dénoncer ses samples de virtuose et ses instrumentaux tarabiscotés, mais ils devront aussi reconnaître que l’emphase qu'ils regrettaient sur certains de ses travaux est aujourd'hui moins présente.

Six ans de discrétion en solo pouvaient marquer tout autant un manque d’inspiration qu'une volonté de perfectionnisme. L’écoute de The Private Press montre que la deuxième hypothèse était la bonne. DJ Shadow convainc avec un second album abouti, auquel on souhaite la même postérité qu’Endtroducing.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet