Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

BRAILLE - Lifefirst: Half the Battle

, 22:31 - Permalink

The existence of a Christian oriented hip-hop subgenre being now granted, in the US, it was only a matter of time before someone really talented would emerge from this. Such a guy, actually, does exist. He is coming from Portland, Oregon, his name is Braille, and in 1999, when he was 17 only, he released Lifefirst: Half the Battle, an album that many praised, in the indie scene. This scene being now made, for a large part, of White middle-class boys concerned with hip-hop's respectability, and hostile to its more materialistic tendencies, it just made sense that they would enjoy this more spiritualistic approach to their favorite music.

BRAILLE - Lifefirst: Half the Battle

ESWP Music :: 1999 :: buy this record

However, even if a large part of it was dedicated to Braille's personal relationship with God, Lifefirst: Half the Battle was still, primarily, an underground hip-hop record. The many beatmakers, actually, included some key players in the indie world, like Celph Titled – who produced the great "Ink Blotch" – and also some experimentalists, like Anticon-affiliates Sixtoo and MoodSwing9. The other ones were Deeskee, DJ Kno, or less famous beatmakers like K IV, Big Balou, and Kiilani.

These people were showing a particular taste for acoustic guitars – please notice, in this style, the excellent "Hard to Determine") - or for some strings ("Sister of Change", "Gullet Gambit") and flutes ("Delusive Decorum") spread here and there, in a discreet and subtle way. Or sometimes, they were trying themselves to more experimental sounds, like Kiilani, with the Hitchcock sample "Molasses".

As for Braille, he never delivered the dumb and pious lyrics one might dread. Even if he could play the preacher, or profess his gratitude for Jesus with his rather low profile voice, his flow was precise and impactful, and sometimes he could sound more hardcore. The main religious trait on this album, finally, was the frequent use of ethereal samples. Because of them, Lifefirst's music sounded gothic at times, and not too far from the first opus of the Jedi Mind Tricks, but with a less sacrilegious stand, obviously. Not a bad idea, since this formula was the basis of two of the best tracks on the album: "Antfarm" and the fantastic "Homesick".

Obviously, for people as secular and irreligious as we - French guys - are, Braille's Christian militancy was sometimes embarrassing. But after all, since we got used to the virulence of gangsta rap, or the excesses of the horrorcore style and people like Necro, why not cope with the bigotry of this other underground rapper? As we know – and as the detractors of hip-hop don't – we don't have to subscribe to the lyrics. Let's just enjoy the music which, apart from some weak and lazy tracks like "Gullet Gambit" and "Abandoned Island", is just great. And at the end of the day, we will only care for one thing: Braille is a great rapper, and his beats are great.

Rate this entry

5/5

  • Note: 5
  • Votes: 1
  • Higher: 5
  • Lower: 5

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

BRAILLE - Lifefirst: Half the Battle

, 22:31 - Lien permanent

A force de voir grandir le créneau du rap chrétien, il fallait s'attendre à ce qu'en provienne un artiste authentiquement doué. Celui-ci existe donc, il vient de Portland, Orégon, se fait appeler Braille et a sorti en 1999, à 17 ans, un Lifefirst: Half the Battle remarqué sur le circuit indé. Un circuit dont les adeptes sont pour partie, de jeunes garçons de la middle class soucieux de la respectabilité de leur musique de prédilection, hostiles à ses atours matérialistes, et donc prompts à se retrouver dans une approche plus spirituelle du genre. Il n'y a pas de hasard.

BRAILLE - Lifefirst: Half the Battle

ESWP Music :: 1999 :: acheter ce disque

Même s'il nous exhorte à "rechercher une relation personnelle avec Dieu", cet album ne s'écarte pas trop, musicalement parlant, des canons de l'underground hip-hop. Rien d'étonnant, puisque l'équipe de production, très fournie, comprend des figures de l'indé comme Celph Titled (qui produit le petit bijou "Ink Blotch") et, dans une veine distincte, Sixtoo et MoodSwing9. Les autres intervenants sont Deeskee, DJ Kno et, moins connus, K IV, Big Balou, et Kiilani. C'est donc une armée mexicaine qui se presse pour produire ce Lifefirst: Half the Battle.

S'y fait jour une prédilection marquée pour les guitares acoustiques (à noter dans ce style, l'excellent "Hard to Determine"), quand ça n'est pas pour quelques cordes ("Sister of Change", "Gullet Gambit") ou flûtes ("Delusive Decorum") étalées ça et là, mais sans pompe excessive. Les producteurs se permettent aussi quelques expérimentations étranges (Kiilani et son sample de Hitchcock sur "Molasses"). Quant à Braille, il ne donne heureusement pas dans le rap béat qu'on était en droit de redouter, même s'il joue aisément au moraliste et déclame à l'envie sa reconnaissance envers Jésus. Sa voix de Blanc est peu affirmée, mais sa scansion est efficace et précise, et il ne s'interdit pas quelques escapades hardcore.

Le seul trait vraiment religieux de l'album, en dehors des paroles, humbles et introspectives, n'est finalement que ce recours fréquent à des samples à base de chœurs éthérés, qui donnent un relent gothique aux compositions de Lifefirst, dans un style proche du premier album halluciné des Jedi Mind Tricks, mais pour un contenu moins sacrilège, bien sûr. Ce qui n'est pas une mauvaise chose, puisqu'avec cette formule, "Antfarm" ("Jesus is coming", paraît-il) et le formidable "Homesick" (aux extraits d'oraison) figurent parmi les meilleurs titres de l'album.

Evidemment, ce militantisme chrétien est à l'écoute presque gênant. Mais nous nous sommes après tout plutôt bien habitués à la virulence du gangsta rap ou aux outrances d'un Necro. Alors, pourquoi pas se mettre aux bondieuseries dans la foulée, histoire d'adoucir nos mœurs ? Personne, outre les habituels détracteurs du rap, n'a jamais cru qu'il fallait prendre les paroles pour argent comptant. Nonobstant quelques effets éthérés un peu faciles ("Gullet Gambit") et quelques titres faiblards ("Abandoned Island"), Braille mérite d'être joué sur nos platines. Avec le temps, nous ne retiendrons de lui qu'une seule chose : il fait du bon rap.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet