Fake For Real

The English written companion of Fake For Real: reviews, interviews and articles about rap music
Home

To menu | To search

DILATED PEOPLES - The Platform

, 22:21 - Permalink

The story of the Dilated Peoples demonstrates that the underground can be a way to redemption, sometimes. Three years after they started in 1992, Babu (DJ), Rakaa Iriscience (MC) and Evidence (producer and MC) realized that they wouldn't get a place in hip-hop's highest spheres, when Epic decided to close its subsidiary, Immortal Records, with which they had a contract. Consequently, Imagery, Battle Hymns & Political Poetry, their first album, wouldn't be released. This setback, however, wouldn't be definitive.

DILATED PEOPLES - The Platform

Capitol :: 2000 :: dilatedpeoples.com :: buy this record

Starting from scratch, the band would join ABB, an independent label, while, in parallel, Babu would rally other turntable virtuoso in the Beat Junkies. Together or separately, the Dilated Peoples would become figureheads of the Californian underground. Later on, when time would come for like-minded Easterners like the Roots or Mos Def to conquer a larger audience, they would have the opportunity, at last, to release for real an album on Capitol.

This edifying story could be used to educate any wannabe rapper, but one question remains unanswered: what is this The Platform really worth? The answer, unfortunately, is scathing: as many albums that have been expected too much, it is a cruel deception. The singles, "Work the Angles" - one of the best released in 1998 - and "The Platform" - a worthy successor - are there, and they are a good reason for buying the album. They are so superior from the rest, though, that they make the album's mediocrity quite obvious.

The Peoples' raps are precise; Babu is making fun with his turntable; prestigious guests are helping the trio (B-Real of Cypress Hill, Aceyalone of the Freestyle Fellowship, the Alkaholiks...); lots of producers are supporting them as well (The Alchemist, E-Swift, Kut Masta Kurt, T-Ray, in addition to Evidence). This kind of hip-hop, going back to basics and showing respect to the ancients, through samples from the likes of Jeru, De La Soul, Biz Markie, Big Daddy Kane or Showbiz & A.G., has the default of the purists, however. It sounds too industrious; it lacks the very authenticity it is seeking to restore. Its only merit is to remind people - if some still don't know this - that L.A. is not only about gangsta rap.

Rate this entry

0/5

  • Note: 0
  • Votes: 0
  • Higher: 0
  • Lower: 0

Add a comment

Comments can be formatted using a simple wiki syntax.

This post's comments feed

Fake For Real

Depuis 1997 : critiques, dossiers, sélections et autres papiers, dédiés au rap (et parfois à d'autres musiques)
Home

Aller au menu | Aller à la recherche

DILATED PEOPLES - The Platform

, 22:13 - Lien permanent

Le parcours des Dilated Peoples est caractéristique de cette rédemption que permet parfois un détour par l'underground. Trois après leurs débuts en 1992, le DJ Babu, le MC Rakaa Iriscience et le producteur / MC Evidence avaient vu en effet s'effondrer leurs espoirs de conquête quand Epic, la maison-mère de leur label, Immortal Records, avait décidé de le fermer, et que leur premier album, Imagery, Battle Hymns & Political Poetry, s'était vu privé de toute sortie. Ce revers, cependant, allait s'avérer de courte durée.

DILATED PEOPLES - The Platform

Capitol :: 2000 :: dilatedpeoples.com :: acheter ce disque

Reprenant tout à zéro, le groupe avait alors rejoint l'indépendant ABB, pendant qu'à côté, Babu rassemblait des virtuoses des platines au sein des Beat Junkies. Ensemble ou séparément, les Dilated Peoples allaient devenir des figures titulaires de l'underground californien. Puis, à l'heure même où, à l'Est, des Roots et des Mos Def dans un esprit proche étendaient leur audience, ils sortaient sur Capitol leur premier véritable album.

Ce récit édifiant aurait suffi à éduquer tout rappeur en herbe s’il ne restait une ultime et épineuse question : mais que vaut-il donc vraiment, ce The Platform ? La réponse, malheureusement, est cinglante : comme la plupart des albums trop attendus, il déçoit. Les singles "Work the Angles" (l'une des meilleures choses hip-hop sorties en 1998) et "The Platform" (son digne successeur) sont bel et bien là, et ils justifient l'achat de cet album. Mais ils enfoncent aussi de leur présence le très long et médiocre reste.

Les Dilated Peoples ont beau aligner des raps précis, Babu s'éclater sur sa platine, quelques invités prestigieux prêter main forte au trio (B-Real de Cypress Hill, Aceyalone de Freestyle Fellowship, les Alkaholiks...), tout un tas de producteurs s'atteler à la tâche (outre Evidence, The Alchemist, E-Swift, Kut Masta Kurt, T-Ray), ce hip-hop qui s'efforce de revenir aux fondamentaux et de manifester son respect pour les anciens, comme le montrent ses samples empruntés à Jeru, De La Soul, Biz Markie et Big Daddy Kane ou Showbiz & A.G., a le défaut des puristes. Il est trop appliqué, il lui manque cette authenticité qu'il cherche pourtant à restaurer. Cet album n'a en fait qu'un mérite : démontrer, à un public qui l'ignorait encore, que le hip-hop de Los Angeles ne se résume pas au seul gangsta rap.

Évaluer ce billet

0/5

  • Note : 0
  • Votes : 0
  • Plus haute : 0
  • Plus basse : 0

Commentaires

1. Le jeudi 23 mai 2013, 09:57 par Greg

Une chronique qui va à peu près dans le même sens ("an album which redefines the word average") : http://www.altrap.com/write/2005/10...

Ajouter un commentaire

Les commentaires peuvent être formatés en utilisant une syntaxe wiki simplifiée.

Fil des commentaires de ce billet